Results 1 to 10 of 21
-
11-07-2014, 09:45 PM #1
- Join Date
- Nov 2014
- Posts
- 15
Implant .STL Won't Convert to GCode
I made this to organize dental implants in my office:
http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:535234/#files
When I put it into Slic3r, it hangs on "Generating Perimeters" when I try to export GCode.
Any advice?? I made it in Sketchup and exported with .stl plugin.
Thanks!
-
11-08-2014, 01:14 AM #2
Why didn't you just download the stl from Thingiverse? By redrawing it in Sketchup, you just re-invented the wheel.
The stl files from Thingiverse usually slice and print without problems from the word, "Go!"
Old Man Emu
-
11-08-2014, 03:51 AM #3
- Join Date
- Jun 2014
- Location
- Burnley, UK
- Posts
- 1,662
The one on thingiverse doesn't slice, at least not in Cura anyway.
-
11-08-2014, 06:02 AM #4
- Join Date
- Nov 2014
- Posts
- 15
-
11-08-2014, 04:33 PM #5
Ahh! Then the problem is likely to have its origin in you drawing. Is it possible to go through the drawing history in Sketchup to see it you can see an error?
I have had a look at your file using Rhino 5 and saw that all the elements had not been joined to make one object. I joined them and produced the attached stl. Try slicing it.
OMEs repair attempt.stl
Old Man EmuLast edited by old man emu; 11-08-2014 at 04:45 PM.
-
11-08-2014, 04:47 PM #6
- Join Date
- Nov 2014
- Posts
- 15
Thanks ill try that when I get home.
Here is the sketchup file too if it helps:
https://db.tt/s8NGmYwA
-
11-08-2014, 05:04 PM #7
Of course opinions are going to vary. But I would do this in OpenScad.
Code:height=30; n_boxes_in_x=5; n_boxes_in_y=7; size_of_box=30; wall_thickness=3; cube([n_boxes_in_x*size_of_box+wall_thickness,n_boxes_in_y*size_of_box,wall_thickness]); for(i=[0:n_boxes_in_x]) { translate([i*size_of_box,0,0]) cube([wall_thickness,n_boxes_in_y*size_of_box+wall_thickness,height]); } for(i=[0:n_boxes_in_y]) { translate([0,i*size_of_box,0]) cube([n_boxes_in_x*size_of_box+wall_thickness,wall_thickness,height]); }
-
11-08-2014, 05:23 PM #8
- Join Date
- Nov 2014
- Posts
- 15
-
11-09-2014, 12:50 PM #9
- Join Date
- Nov 2014
- Posts
- 15
The SCAD doesn't work either! Get's stuck at generating perimeters...
-
11-09-2014, 02:33 PM #10
It would be easier if you used metric units.
These are the numbers I used to get close to what you specified:
Code:height=45; n_boxes_in_x=7; n_boxes_in_y=7; size_of_box=21; wall_thickness=4; cube([n_boxes_in_x*size_of_box+wall_thickness,n_boxes_in_y*size_of_box,wall_thickness]); for(i=[0:n_boxes_in_x]) { translate([i*size_of_box,0,0]) cube([wall_thickness,n_boxes_in_y*size_of_box+wall_thickness,height]); } for(i=[0:n_boxes_in_y]) { translate([0,i*size_of_box,0]) cube([n_boxes_in_x*size_of_box+wall_thickness,wall_thickness,height]); }
Attachment 3354 ------- Attachment 3355Last edited by Roxy; 11-09-2014 at 02:43 PM.
Ender 3v2 poor printing quality
10-28-2024, 09:08 AM in Tips, Tricks and Tech Help