Close



Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 9101112 LastLast
Results 101 to 110 of 112

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Staff Engineer printbus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Highlands Ranch, Colorado USA
    Posts
    1,437
    Add printbus on Thingiverse
    Quote Originally Posted by printbus View Post
    Has anyone ever looked into tweaking how the Arduino IDE uses the avrdude programming utility? There's no reason why avrdude can't reprogram EEPROM values when reflashing the firmware. I do that all the time with avrdude in my non-Arduino AVR projects. Not always since sometimes I do want to retain the old EEPROM data, but it's a simple command line option with avrdude to go either way.
    I looked into this a bit. Apparently the Arduino IDE doesn't give you the flexibility to tailor the avrdude command line. At least not until Arduino v1.5. I did see a forum post mentioning how the avrdude commands could be modified in the <arduino folder>/hardware/arduino/avr/platform.txt file, but you have to be at v1.5 or higher on the IDE to have that file.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Roxy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Lone Star State
    Posts
    2,182
    Quote Originally Posted by printbus View Post
    I looked into this a bit. Apparently the Arduino IDE doesn't give you the flexibility to tailor the avrdude command line. At least not until Arduino v1.5. I did see a forum post mentioning how the avrdude commands could be modified in the <arduino folder>/hardware/arduino/avr/platform.txt file, but you have to be at v1.5 or higher on the IDE to have that file.
    However... There would be a software hack around to get around that. If you were willing to wipe the EEPROM any time you changed the firmware, you could store some information in the EEPROM so you know its time to change it. For example, if the CRC of the firmware image doesn't match the CRC of the firmware that wrote the EEPROM, you wipe it. But.... There is already a version # stored in the EEPROM of the format of the EEPROM data. If the data format changes, it 'invalidates' the EEPROM data. Perhaps, part of the directions for getting Auto Bed Leveling up and running is to change your EEPROM data format version???

  3. #3
    Engineer-in-Training
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    257
    Thanks AbuMaia, that's what I ended up doing earlier. My g28 z0 works beautifully but like you said, g29 is still out to lunch.

    After a g29 my z height is reported as 4.52, and even after a z0, the head is a good 9mm too high...

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Roxy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Lone Star State
    Posts
    2,182
    Quote Originally Posted by MiniMadRyan View Post
    Thanks AbuMaia, that's what I ended up doing earlier. My g28 z0 works beautifully but like you said, g29 is still out to lunch.

    After a g29 my z height is reported as 4.52, and even after a z0, the head is a good 9mm too high...
    Reset your printer... Connect to it with PronterFace. And give it a M114 command. What does it say? Does the Z_PROBE_OFFSET_FROM_EXTRUDER match what is declared in your Configuration.h file?

  5. #5
    Engineer-in-Training
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    257
    I should add, I even started afresh using Dab's most recent firmware release, and still the same effects too...

  6. #6
    Engineer-in-Training
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    257
    I don't have the printer in front of me at the moment, but after adjusting my code per AbuMaia's suggestion, after a cold start and not touching the printer in any other way, an M114s declares my z at 15. My offset in my config is still the actual 8.60 however....

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Roxy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Lone Star State
    Posts
    2,182
    Quote Originally Posted by MiniMadRyan View Post
    I don't have the printer in front of me at the moment, but after adjusting my code per AbuMaia's suggestion, after a cold start and not touching the printer in any other way, an M114s declares my z at 15. My offset in my config is still the actual 8.60 however....
    The reason for the question is the version of Configuration.h I have from you has the EEPROM turned on. You need to load the 'default settings' into memory, and then save them to EEPROM using a M500. The reason is Marlin takes all it's settings from the EEPROM if the EEPROM is turned on.

    Hence the question: What does M114 and specifically the M851 command say?

  8. #8
    Engineer-in-Training
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    257
    Crap, I completely forgot about eeprom, I wll check it this afternoon...maybe that's my issue all along hmm...

  9. #9
    Engineer-in-Training
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    257
    Here's my startup code from pronterface, cold start, haven't moved or touched anything else.

    Connecting...
    start
    Printer is now online.
    echo: External Reset
    Marlin1.0.0
    echo: Last Updated: Dec 5 2014 21:48:19 | Author: (MakerFarm Inc, 10" i3v Prusa, dacb)
    Compiled: Dec 5 2014
    echo: Free Memory: 3519 PlannerBufferBytes: 1232
    echo:Stored settings retrieved
    echo:Steps per unit:
    echo: M92 X80.00 Y80.00 Z4000.00 E859.00
    echo:Maximum feedrates (mm/s):
    echo: M203 X250.00 Y250.00 Z2.00 E22.00
    echo:Maximum Acceleration (mm/s2):
    echo: M201 X1000 Y1000 Z5 E1000
    echo:Acceleration: S=acceleration, T=retract acceleration
    echo: M204 S500.00 T500.00
    echo:Advanced variables: S=Min feedrate (mm/s), T=Min travel feedrate (mm/s), B=minimum segment time (ms), X=maximum XY jerk (mm/s), Z=maximum Z jerk (mm/s), E=maximum E jerk (mm/s)
    echo: M205 S0.00 T0.00 B20000 X20.00 Z0.40 E5.00
    echo:Home offset (mm):
    echo: M206 X0.00 Y0.00 Z0.00
    echo:PID settings:
    echo: M301 P22.20 I1.08 D114.00
    echo:SD init fail
    >>>M114
    SENDING:M114
    X:0.00 Y:0.00 Z:0.00 E:0.00 Count X: 0.00 Y:0.00 Z:0.00
    >>>M851
    SENDING:M851
    echo:Z Offset :
    0.00
    And here's it after a G28

    >>>G28
    SENDING:G28
    >>>M114
    SENDING:M114
    X:93.00 Y:131.00 Z:15.00 E:0.00 Count X: 93.00 Y:131.00 Z:15.00
    >>>M851
    SENDING:M851
    echo:Z Offset :
    0.00
    Last edited by MiniMadRyan; 12-07-2014 at 05:07 PM.

  10. #10
    Engineer-in-Training
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    257
    Well I think we can lay this thread to rest

    I can't believe I was so dumb, as to never in this entire event issued a M502 to default the settings and load the values from the config.h and not what was in the EEPROM. I did so, and everything now looks great, my G28, and G29 now work correctly and my Z height is correct too (some small tweaking, but its in the ballpark)

    I guess my lesson learned here, and to all those who have any issues is, to always run M502 after changing your configs.... I'll also include this link to Roxy's amazing code to invalidate the EEPROM automatically as well: http://3dprintboard.com/showthread.p...lidate-Command



    I just want to say thank you to Roxy, AbuMaia and everyone else who's been so kind and helpful the last few weeks in working with me on my glitches and user-issues I've had. You're all top marks in my books, and I can't thank you enough for your help, and this entire amazing forum too


    Ryan

Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 9101112 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •