Results 1 to 10 of 11
Thread: Bed leveling UBL delta printer
-
06-23-2017, 08:27 AM #1
- Join Date
- Jun 2017
- Posts
- 6
Bed leveling UBL delta printer
So i wanted to put a new screen on my delta pritner, a homemade kossel type. Anyhwo thoguht while i was at it ill put newest firmware on. so i downloaded the bugfix 1.1.... and did all the configuration.h file etc. thsi tiem thoguh i enabled UBL.
Well after looking through here and everywhere follwing what people said, i came up a cropper i cant level the bed at all even thoguh i had it working on bilinear bed leveling. So could someone please help me im pulling my hair out and getting to that age where it matters, if you know what i mean.
-
06-23-2017, 02:46 PM #2
UBL now works with Delta printers. (oldmcg did the work to get it running in that environment.) A good place to start would be showing us your bed's Topography make. Do a G29 T and post the results here.
With Delta's there is a peculiarity. You need to also set the mesh points that are outside of the DELTA_PRINTABLE_RADIUS. For Delta's you can enable UBL_G29_P31 which will give you a Least Squares Fit interpolation.
Code:#if ENABLED(UBL_G29_P31) case 1: { // P3.1 use least squares fit to fill missing mesh values // P3.10 zero weighting for distance, all grid points equal, best fit tilted plane // P3.11 10X weighting for nearest grid points versus farthest grid points // P3.12 100X distance weighting // P3.13 1000X distance weighting, approaches simple average of nearest points const float weight_power = (cvf - 3.10) * 100.0, // 3.12345 -> 2.345 weight_factor = weight_power ? POW(10.0, weight_power) : 0; smart_fill_wlsf(weight_factor); } break;
-
06-24-2017, 07:19 AM #3
- Join Date
- Jun 2017
- Posts
- 6
sweet ill go to the workshop shortly and get it
-
06-24-2017, 07:32 AM #4
- Join Date
- Jun 2017
- Posts
- 6
I followed a few posts of yours roxy, excelletn work by you and oldmcg. my process was
M502
M500
g28
g29 p1
g29 T
g29 s1
g29 p3 t
g29 p3 t
g29 s1
g29 a
m500
reset the machine
then tried a g29w says its active.
then g26 which made it drag across the bed as if its too low
I did wonder wether it was my z-probe offset that was wrong but i tried everythign from -1.4 to 4.5 with the same result. My probe is on my nozzle it activates about .4 lower than the bed (if that makes sense)
-
06-24-2017, 10:12 AM #5
Also... you should first verify you can print a small item at the center of your bed without any bed leveling active. Usually, when these types of difficulties show up trying to bring up a bed leveling system, it is because this can not be done.
If you can not print a small object at the center of the bed... It is not possible to bring up the bed leveling system.
You can just do a G29 D to turn off the UBL bed leveling system. But if you turn off the //#define AUTO_BED_LEVELING_UBL option, that would be best. With the bed leveling code not built into the firmware, there won't be any confusion if it is responsible for any issues you see trying to print a small object.Last edited by Roxy; 06-24-2017 at 11:24 AM.
-
06-24-2017, 11:26 AM #6
- Join Date
- Jun 2017
- Posts
- 6
ok i can print a 20x20 test cube in the centre of the bed with UBL deactivated. had a little issue with sticking but i sorted that with pritt stick.
the bed topology is
17:25:38.191 : . . . . . 0.100 0.187 . . . . .
17:25:38.191 :
17:25:38.429 : . . . -0.058 -0.029 0.025 0.063 0.019 -0.022 . . .
17:25:38.429 :
17:25:38.633 : -0.097 -0.002 0.028 0.003 -0.008 0.015 0.010 -0.026 . .
17:25:38.633 :
17:25:38.810 : . -0.111 -0.066 -0.011 -0.014 -0.012 0.009 0.045 0.037 0.038 -0.037 .
17:25:38.810 :
17:25:38.993 : . -0.035 -0.062 -0.049 -0.008 0.035 0.036 0.066 0.114 0.157 0.049 .
17:25:38.993 :
17:25:39.190 : 0.107 0.049 0.025 0.012 0.024 0.050 [ 0.076] 0.090 0.147 0.211 0.137 0.097
17:25:39.190 :
17:25:39.362 : 0.168 0.121 0.090 0.047 0.065 0.100 0.101 0.139 0.162 0.236 0.231 0.167
17:25:39.377 :
17:25:39.620 : 0.139 0.176 0.151 0.240 0.221 .
17:25:39.620 :
17:25:39.811 : . 0.121 0.181 0.140 0.112 0.136 0.137 0.141 0.123 0.192 0.121 .
17:25:39.811 :
17:25:39.882 : . . 0.111 0.128 0.072 0.111 0.088 0.088 0.147 0.079 . .
17:25:39.992 :
17:25:40.171 : . . . -0.004 -0.002 0.002 -0.027 -0.066 -0.169 . . .
17:25:40.171 :
17:25:40.367 : . . . . . -0.189 -0.224 . . . . .
then with the fill
17:27:19.846 : 0.024 -0.022 -0.022 -0.014 -0.006
17:27:19.846 :
17:27:20.022 : -0.111 -0.097 -0.097 -0.058 -0.029 0.025 0.063 0.019 -0.022 -0.026 -0.026 -0.037
17:27:20.022 :
17:27:20.215 : -0.111 -0.111 -0.097 -0.002 0.028 0.003 -0.008 0.015 0.010 -0.026 -0.037 -0.037
17:27:20.215 :
17:27:20.445 : -0.111 -0.111 -0.066 -0.011 -0.014 -0.012 0.009 0.045 0.037 0.038 -0.037 -0.037
17:27:20.445 :
17:27:20.654 : 0.107 -0.035 -0.062 -0.049 -0.008 0.035 0.036 0.066 0.114 0.157 0.049 0.097
17:27:20.654 :
17:27:20.842 : 0.147 0.211 0.137 0.097
17:27:20.842 :
17:27:21.022 : 0.168 0.121 0.090 0.047 0.065 0.100 0.101 0.139 0.162 0.236 0.231 0.167
17:27:21.022 :
17:27:21.207 : 0.229 0.153 0.138 0.092 0.128 0.114 0.139 0.176 0.151 0.240 0.221 0.237
17:27:21.207 :
17:27:21.398 : 0.121 0.121 0.181 0.140 0.112 0.136 0.137 0.141 0.123 0.192 0.121 0.121
17:27:21.398 :
17:27:21.553 : 0.132 0.121 0.111 0.128 0.072 0.111 0.088 0.088 0.147 0.079
17:27:21.637 : 0.121 0.163
17:27:21.637 :
17:27:21.842 : 0.079 0.328 0.205
17:27:21.842 :
17:27:22.023 : 0.665 0.331 -0.004 -0.004 -0.002 -0.189 -0.224 -0.066 -0.169 -0.169 0.534 1.237
-
06-24-2017, 12:42 PM #7
Is that using Repetier Host? Maybe doing a G29 T1 won't drop as many characters?
But I think you can continue... The numbers do not look crazy.
You do have the bed very level.
If you can get a G26 to print.... And you can post a picture of what it looks like... We can start fine tuning the mesh.
Also... It is very very helpful to turn on
#define BABYSTEPPING
#define DOUBLECLICK_FOR_Z_BABYSTEPPING
That will help you get a perfect first layer every time!Last edited by Roxy; 06-24-2017 at 01:00 PM.
-
06-24-2017, 02:25 PM #8
- Join Date
- Jun 2017
- Posts
- 6
ill try doing a g26 withought UBL on as last time i turned it on and tried it just dragged along the bed.
Ill recompile the firmware with babystepping on and post photos tomorrow
-
06-24-2017, 03:31 PM #9
One thing you can do is change your Z_MAX height by 10 mm... Do a M502 & M500... And see if G26 is 10mm above the bed... If it is not... It maybe you have that number set wrong. G26 just positions the nozzle 1 layer above the bed. And if it is not doing that, the machine is confused about where the 0.000 location is.
-
06-25-2017, 06:40 AM #10
- Join Date
- Jun 2017
- Posts
- 6
Well i think you scared it into working lol i just tried a g26 which was crap, so thought id try a rint and it worked not full bed print yet but quite big. ill let you know how today goes.
Ender 3v2 poor printing quality
10-28-2024, 09:08 AM in Tips, Tricks and Tech Help