Close

Introduction from a Clueless Newb

Hi, I'm new here. I don't own a printer yet.

I'm an IT worker by trade, I also haven't made anything but meals in decades.

I'm planning on getting a Creality Ember 2 for my first, low budget printer. It's gotten a lot of really excellent reviews on YT. Hoping to purchase prior to July.

Second printer (assuming I like this and want to stick with it) will be a Prusa i3 Mark 3. From what I've read it's pretty much the gold standard for your basic 3d printer.

The 3rd printer I'm looking at, waaay down the road, is a Voxel based on a Duet3D control board.

Expect me to come in here tearing what's left of my hair out and crying piteously when I print half a kg of spaghetti.

Until then, I'll be reading and asking questions. LMK if I'm being a pest, that's not my goal.

Add Roberts_Clif on Thingiverse
    If you ask will try to answer, If you become a pest might not respond. So let's hope you do not become a pest.

As a first printer I would choose this, maybe because I already did make the choice twice now.

HICTOP Prusa I3 DIY 3D Printer Aluminum Frame Desktop Computer FDM Printer Support PLA/ABS/Wood/HIPS/Flexible Filament $269.00

That's certainly the least expensive dual filament printer I've seen. Is it dual filament or dual extruder?

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    it's optional dual extruder - actually pretty pricey for a basic i3 kit Although it does aluminium frame.
    Doesn't have the touch screen - which adds the non-interruptible, wifi etc. Also has dirt cheap motherboard. Which may or may not be a future issue should you want to add a touchscreen.

I will almost certainly stick with the Ender 2 for my initial printer. I've found it for $175, though that might be a questionable site.