Close

Follow Eddie On Twitter Add Eddie on Facebook Add Eddie on Google+ Add Eddie on Shapeways Add Eddie on Thingiverse

Derby the Dog gets 3D Printed Legs

We've seen 3D printing come to the aid of those humans that are missing limbs. Now one dog, named Derby is the benefactor of 3D printed prosthetic legs, thanks to 3D systems. Derby was born with 2 deformed legs. While doggy carts works they didn't give him the freedom that other dogs have, so he foster mom, Tara Anderson (also an employee at 3D Systems), created him some 3D printed prostheses, and they are quite amazing. He can no run like regular dogs, have fun playing, and more. Read and see more at: http://3dprint.com/31337/3d-printed-...etic-legs-dog/

Engineer-in-Training
    That's awesome.

Costs and feasibility

I am a Veterinary Technician outside of Philadelphia and was very impressed and excited by this story. I wanted to know, going forward, what are the plans for making these kinds of prosthetics available, how would a potential client start the process with you and is there a cost range? I would be more than happy to share this info with clients and my boss. I have already forwarded the story along to my boss. We see many dogs and even some cats that do not have use of their legs/lose use due to injury and even cancer.

Thanks in advance!
    lisa

Quote Originally Posted by Eddie View Post
    We've seen 3D printing come to the aid of those humans that are missing limbs. Now one dog, named Derby is the benefactor of 3D printed prosthetic legs, thanks to 3D systems. Derby was born with 2 deformed legs. While doggy carts works they didn't give him the freedom that other dogs have, so he foster mom, Tara Anderson (also an employee at 3D Systems), created him some 3D printed prostheses, and they are quite amazing. He can no run like regular dogs, have fun playing, and more. Read and see more at: http://3dprint.com/31337/3d-printed-...etic-legs-dog/

Engineer-in-Training
    Lisa,