Close

xyz printing da vinci

Anyone knows wether this printer is any good? the pricerange seems nice, and more importantly, i can have it shipped to Denmark where i live. Does anyone own this device?

Add Marm on Thingiverse
    I've had it for a few months and quite satisfied with it. That said, I am new to the industry, and I'm already thinking about a DIY machine with a much larger bed.

It prints out of the box, comes precalibrated (I just hit my 75th hour of printing and just recalibrated it). The software is pretty nice, but nothing special. It's aimed at the entry level user I'm assuming, so everything is pretty user friendly. Given the PrintrBot of the same price only does 100mm cubes, and this does 200mm, and given it's fully enclosed, which the printrbot is not, made it a fairly easy purchase.

Some caveats though:

1) It's filament is proprietary. As shipped, you have to purchase their filaments. The price is higher than comparable filaments, and the quality is not the best. That said though, I have haven't had too many complaints about the print quality..... yet (I have yet to try other brands). It's the same scam that Ink Jet printers run. Make the printer for dirt cheap, but sell the proprietary cartridges for a high price. That's where they are trying to make their money.