Close

Thread: New member

Follow Maxime On Twitter

Hi guys, first let me introduce my self

My name is Maxime I'm 23 years old, I'm a machinist and I'm studying mecanical engineering.
    I have been interested in 3d printers since many years but I never took the time to dig into it.

Lately I have seen a very interesting kit, yes I am talking about the Prusa i3.
    It looks like a nice product to begin with, and I am interested to buy one.

I am familiar with CNC programming, doing set ups and all that kind of stuff but 3d printer is new to me.
    I have some questions that I have not been able to find the answers.

ie: how is the programming done and why the heat table

Is there a good website out there you guys can recommend me ?

I know every printers are different but some specific general information would be nice... which is hard to find

Thanks have a good one

Add GOC on Google+ Add GOC on Thingiverse
    Quote Originally Posted by Maxime View Post
    ie: how is the programming done and why the heat table
    - If your in the engineering industry your probably very familiar with "PTC Creo/NC", "MasterCAM", "Esprite", or "UG". These programs create milling code for the CNC machining. In 3D printing a similar pathing is generated to create objects. There are a few different pieces of software out there that do this pathing. My preferred software is called "Repetier-Host" and within it I utilize the "CuraEngine" slicer (which is similar to a post processor in the CAM world). I've found it generates very nice pathing and I've had the best printing results using this setup in both speed and quality.