Close

Will This Print? (Pictures)

Toolpath 1.jpgToolPath2.jpg Im not printing exactly that, im gonna center the top and but I wanted to know if it would actually print the rod at the top without it like bending down and falling in the process, pluse the gap at the first picture, I tried so hard but I cannot fix it, it is slightly touching the base at one corner, but not much after that, so will that print the same angle as it says in the print preview? I am using sketchup and makerware as the software and replicator 2 is the printer. Thanks in advance.

Staff Engineer
    It will definitely need support to print on a FFF machine.

huh? what does that mean....sorry im a student trying to finish a huge project, still kinda new to 3d printing

He means that when you run your stl file through your slicer program, you have to tell the slicer to prop up the object where it overhangs and there is nothing between the object and the print bed. The software will generate support structures similar to scaffolding on a building so that the overhanging parts of the object don't slump down.

What slicing program are you using? If you let us know, we can post some screen shots so that you get the idea.

Old Man Emu

Engineer
    For a starter, basically no, even support, the texture will be horribly that you will need extra time to polish the bottom.

What you can do is split the parts and glued them together, especially for the second picture. Texture will look much better and smooth if you can divide the print instead shooting the whole at once.

Anything can be printed. Yet the scale is what matters here. How big of a print is this? If it is tiny the glue method is recomended. If that wing that protrudes to the side is 4 inches long with a half inch chord (thickness of the wing) it could be printed with supports. More info is needed. To me it looks like a lopsided hood ornament and may need some restructuring to be able to endure the wind loading of freeway speeds.