Close

Student

Upgrading a FlashForge Creator Dual-Extruder (original)

Hello,

I'm new to 3D printing (but not to 3D modeling) and just ordered a FlashForge Creator model for much less than it would cost to buy the latest version (Creator Pro).

My questions are:

Are there upgrade options for the model that I ordered so that I can benefit from the following new features offered in the Creator Pro:
    • warp-resistant 6.3 aluminum build platform
    • heat-resistant metal platform
    • improved (10mm) z-axis guid rod

Kapton tape vs. glass - I see that kapton tape is very expensive and have read some conflicting reviews on using glass instead of kapton tape. Any advise here is appreciated.

Some advice, or a re-direct to an existing thread would be great!

Thanks,
    Warkitteh

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    the only thing I'd say is add your own build platform. I use a 3mm aluminium block attached to the opriginal with thin strips of kapton at the corners.

While it's possible you might get a flat plate out of the box. After a few heat/cool cycles the difference in expansion rates between the aluminium bed and steel screws will pretty much guarentee a buckled plate.

That and a cooling duct and fan for the print area are all I've done to improve printing.

We did add an on/off switch to the front of the machine. But that's just because reaching round all the time was pita.
    Just cut a hole and put new switch in - my mate did the wiring. The old switch is still there, just non-functional.

It's a pretty good machine :-)
    Last edited by curious aardvark; 12-24-2014 at 01:04 PM.

Student
    Hey Curious, Thanks for the suggestion. I'll follow up with this post with some pictures of what I decided to do about the build plate. I know some machinist that can help me get a good, flat piece of better grade aluminum to fit the original.