Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Support structures hard to remove (FF Dreamer)

Just got my FF Dreamer and tried to print few tests from Thingverse.
    The problem is that support structures comes out thick, strong, and
    very difficult to remove.

Is there any way to make those support lighter and/or more sparse ?
    Or can I someway define where I want support to build, as now it just
    adds support all around the model, which is not only waste of material
    but also makes it way more difficult to remove.

I am using FlashPrint. Printing using PLA 50/190 C.

Any helpful answers will be appreciated.

Disclaimer: I'm very new to this. One solution that I've read but haven't tried yet is to print in PLA, but use ABS in the second extruder to do the supports. I'm going to give that a try sometime this week; I just started getting a lot more successful ABS prints now that I'm using a glass bed. From what I understand, you can use acetone to help dissolve away the ABS.

The other possibility that I've read is to disable supports and build your own in the model. This came up when I was looking at how to make an enclosed hinge -- the advice was to make a minimal connection between the pin and loop in the hinge, allowing the "free" floating pin once the hinge is moved once and that connection is broken.

I've tried reducing the Infill setting in Flashprint, but I don't see much of a difference in the supporting material...

Technician
    Quote Originally Posted by domu View Post
    Just got my FF Dreamer and tried to print few tests from Thingverse.
    The problem is that support structures comes out thick, strong, and
    very difficult to remove.

Is there any way to make those support lighter and/or more sparse ?
    Or can I someway define where I want support to build, as now it just
    adds support all around the model, which is not only waste of material
    but also makes it way more difficult to remove.