Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Part has lots of webbing

Many of my parts have "webbing", I'm very new at this and correct me if theres a better term but I'm not sure what it is or why it does this?
    Makerbot mini
    Filament by Makerbot

Is this normal?
    Is there another name for this or is it webbing?

Webbing.jpg

Engineer
    Some call them artifact, I call them christmas garlands.

Anyways it is normal, but for your specific case, no. The retraction calibration is pissed poor as hell. Heck I can't understand how makerbot can sell you something without half decent configured. Anyways, the trick is to play with the temperature. The hotter is your hotend, the easier plastic will leak while jumping from a spot to another.

You can solve by reducing the printing temperature. Alternatively if you can, play with the retraction speed or retraction distance.

Add Geoff on Thingiverse
    Quote Originally Posted by gencode View Post
    Many of my parts have "webbing", I'm very new at this and correct me if theres a better term but I'm not sure what it is or why it does this?
    Makerbot mini
    Filament by Makerbot

Is this normal?
    Is there another name for this or is it webbing?

Webbing.jpg
    This is caused by an off calibration in your retraction rates combined with a slightly off melting temperature I think. Your part looks pretty warped from heat (unless the top is meant to be wonky, sorry if it is)

Set your retract to be a little faster, and retract more filament than it currently is. I would lower the printing temp you are printing. I assume thats PLA from the super shiny look? what temp are you printing at?
    Hex3D - 3D Printing and Design http://www.hex3d.com

Thanks Richard and Geoff,

PLA yes
    I cant play with the Temp, the tab is grayed out and cant be changed, I cant even turn off rafts
    The mini gives little options
    I don't see any "retraction speed"
    For my case do you mean "Speed while traveling" or "Speed while extruding"