Close

what filament do you use and why

Hi everyone, I'm new here at soli forums. I'm really a student in 3d printing industry and just learning. I was just wondering what brand of filament you use, material type, and size etc.? What made you choose it and how much filament do you use (in kg) per month?

Add Geoff on Thingiverse
    I probably go through 2-3 kg's per week, depending on how many printers I've sold. I always try different suppliers unless I need a specific colour - but truth be told, most of them come from the same suppliers overseas, they just throw their sticker or badge on the box. I buy it of Ebay now pretty much, I would recommend my usual supplier but have recently cut them off as they don't seem to understand the difference between a transparent red filament and a solid red filament (as in they refuse to believe there is a difference... yeah, weird I know... but i've had that argument... )

It also depends on what you print.. Eg. A kossel mini printer takes a little over 300 grams of plastic to print if done properly (including Vrails), print 3 kossel mini kits and there is 1kg almost, Per month, depends, if I have sold alot, probably on a good month I'll go through 15kgs of plastic.
    All of mine is 1.75mm, was a die hard ABS person but have found PLA is not so bad really for making printer parts and quadcopter parts.
    Hex3D - 3D Printing and Design http://www.hex3d.com

Engineer
    Been using Pla and ABS. Both standard 1,75 and 2.85mm(often named as 3mm).
    Also tried Taulman and Ninjaflex, but those are just pain if you don't have the right materiels or know the right settings.

The biggest prints I ever done was using the complete filament roll (350ish metres) for printing 10" diameter aerospace components. That was only 30% infill, my boss asked me to print at 100%, which obviously I said no....