Close

Student

Ultra reliable large print area concept advice - (inc 3D model images)

Hi all, my first time posting on here.

I am fairly new to 3D printers but I have been learning fairly fast. I do have existing mechanical knowledge and some decent equipment though.

What I want:

In terms of size I am looking to make is something that is capable of printing a box around the 600X x 350Y x 400Z mm mark (24 x 14 x 16") with the greatest reliability to the lowest maintenance possible.

Due to the long time it's going to take for the larger prints I want to be able to leave it unattended for as long as needed. If this means 24 hours a day for a whole week then that's what it has to be be able to do, if possible and without ever having an issue. I also don't want to ever have to recalibrate it or do any sort of tweaks. I wish to use it for my auto business so this means I just want it to work and in the shortest amount of time possible. If this means going to much more trouble and cost initially making it then so be it.

I do have the means to line things up nice and level and square in general. For example I will use my mill to cut each section down to length and square off the ends. Done at the same time and with the same cutter this will make everything be damn near identical in length. The joys of a digital read out.

With all these demands luckily I only need to use PLA so no heated bed and I can use a fairly course resolution print, these don't need to look pretty.

Current planned concept:

- No round linear rails or support rails, rather all square type linear guides for all 3 axis. Very likely all 15mm in width.