Close

Beginner 3D printing, Ender 3 V3 SE issues

Hi all,

I'm new to 3D printing. I bought an Ender 3 V3 SE printer a few days ago after doing a fair bit of research on which printer to buy. I chose this printer because it was low cost but seemed to have several features that might make my start in 3D printing a little easier, such as the auto bed levelling feature.

Fast forward a few days, I built the printer and tested it using the cat file that comes on the memory card with the unit. It worked flawlessly. I then tested with a 3D Benchy and that worked. And I printed out a dog that I downloaded from Thingiverse. After this, I ran out of PLA that came with the printer, so I set up a new PLA spool (Elegoo PLA in black). I then did a test print of the same dog that I printed with the PLA that came with the printer. Again, all worked flawlessly.

After all that, I downloaded a church tower model and tried to print that, but it wouldn't print. It looks to me like the filament is coming out of the nozzle but then the nozzle is tearing up the print on the bed. I tried it several times. Then I gave up on that model. I don't know what's wrong with it. I went back to my dog model and that again printed fine. I then tried to go back to the church tower model and it just wont print. It looks to me like the filament just won't stick to the bed and instead collects around the nozzle. I've cleaned the nozzle with a bit of tissue and I've cleaned the bed by brushing it lightly. That didn't make a difference so I tried soap & warm water. There is no filament on the bed from previous prints. I've also tried spraying the bed with hair spray because someone told me that makes it a bit stickier. Nothing seems to work. Now the printer won't print any of the models I have previously printed without any issues.