Close

Beginner, a few questions… looking at Bambu labs

Hey guys. I’m new to 3D printers as a whole. I’ve never seen one run, I’ve seen them in person though! My understanding is I’ll need to learn CAD to make my own custom prints. Is CAD difficult to learn on your own? I have some designs available for download that I’d like to print as well.
    I’m currently looking at the Bambu labs x1 carbon as I think it’ll be something I can learn on and hopefully not have to upgrade. Is there “better” for the money (about $1,500)?
    Most of what I think I’ll end up making will be hard use stuff. Tool accessories such as power tool holders, power tool holding trays, etc. maybe a small part here and there. I’m unsure what else, that’s just off the top of my head. PETG is what I’d be looking at for that stuff, correct? Is carbon fiber worth using? Do prints stay solid with compressive loads on them (say a box with a removable top). Any other info I should know about?

Technologist
    I would not say CAD is easy to learn but it's not insurmountable. Depending on what package you pick to learn, there are a ton of tutorials on Youtube. Self learning is definitely doable.

I focus on more useless toys so use art focused 3d modeling software (not CAD) and self taught.

I've only used two 3d printers so I'll let other more knowledgeable folks talk to them.

if you are looking to make mechanical objects then yes you need to lean a cad software that can export the file in STL format which is what the Slicing software (also something to lean) read and turns into gcode which is what the printer reads.