Close



Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18
  1. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    392
    It was just drawn in Fusion 360, it's approx 100mm by 140mm.

    Just a rectangle with the face drawn on it then extruded up 3mm and exported as an .obj file.

    Qidi had similar results using Prusa slicer, no solution as yet and I doubt there will be. In the unlikely event I print that particular file again I'll probably go for concentric pattern rather than lines.

  2. #12
    Student 3dpp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2022
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    13
    Have you tried exporting to an stl? or just the obj?

    Check this out.
    save stl.jpg
    See the extra lines connecting the two circles.
    save stl with question.png

    Sorry for the bad drawing in paint but I felt like that was the best was to get my point across.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    392
    Sorry, but I'm not sure what you are trying to show or how this will help correct the issue.
    You mention a slicer setting, I would appreciate knowing what that would be ?

    Could you explain how ' boolean operations ' are causing the issue?

    It is not very likely I'll be printing that particular file again, but the knowledge of how to preven it would be handy.
    Last edited by Bikeracer2020; 05-09-2022 at 01:18 AM.

  4. #14
    Student 3dpp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2022
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    13
    sorry about my half baked explanation, the idea is that there are polygons/triangle bunched up in that spot(along the red line) and then the slicer fails to actually handle it, I believe it's the resolution setting. Id try increasing it gradually.
    slicer.png

  5. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    392
    Just wondering which slicer you show in your post ?

    Perhaps you can explain the triangles, it's just a flat plane interrupted by some holes, not a curved surface where I would expect some triangles in the mesh

  6. #16
    Student 3dpp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2022
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by Bikeracer2020 View Post
    Just wondering which slicer you show in your post ?

    Perhaps you can explain the triangles, it's just a flat plane interrupted by some holes, not a curved surface where I would expect some triangles in the mesh
    I'm using pursa slicer, newest version. As for the triangles, they make up the mesh and it doesn't have to be a curved surface, triangles are created by vertices(points) connected by edges to create the faces aka triangles. So when creating your model in a program like fusion, it'll work with polygons(or what ever they're using) and export to a simpler format for a slicer to read(hence gcode a coordinate system with location information about said vertices and with additional variables like feed, laser, extruder, etc ).

    So what am I getting at? Sometimes when doing a boolean operation it can lead to the faces being bunched up in or around an not keeping a even topography. So like if I open that same part in let's say... Meshmixer...




    So this is a flat plane thats been extruded a few mm, and if I open this in my slicer, it'll show a flat plane(with the holes in it) but the distortion from the triangles isnt visible. in meshmixer it is because it doesnt automatically try to smooth those triangles, and sometimes this can replicate itself in gcode(in this case an extra extrusion across the top.).

  7. #17
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    392
    Quote Originally Posted by Bikeracer2020 View Post
    I am having problems with surface finish on my Qidi XC-Pro. there is a raised extrusion where one part of the infill is extruded and overlaps as it meets the previous part infill.
    Qidi support suggests Prusa slicer might work better than their own.
    I think this is a printer specific problem, it didn't happen with either a Raise 3D E2, or BCN W27 Epsilon.
    Advice from Qidi is that a different slicer ' might ' improve it but a slicer that will improve it has not yet been found in Quidi slicer, Prusa slicer, Cura, Ultimaker and probably some others.

  8. #18
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    392
    After a few weeks of to and fro with Qidi about the poor finish from my QIDI TECH X-CF Pro printer I have now given up with it.

    It seems according to the photo they sent me today of their latest attempt and after they tried several different slicers that this is the best the QIDI TECH X-CF Pro can do.

    I thought it might be just my printer because it has had several issues from new, however, Qidi get the same result so I have to assume the problem is inherent in that particular model.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •