Close

Student

Looking for a new printer - thoughts on the Robox?

I'm new to 3d printing and have been researching which one to buy. The features I am looking for are:

Build Volume: 6"x 6" x 6" - a little smaller is ok
    Resolution: not as important as I won't be doing fine detail prints - but I see most printers in my price range are in the 100-200 micron range
    Dual Extruders: this is a must
    Heated-Build Platform: this is a must
    Auto-Level Bed: Highly preferred
    Material: PLA, ABS, Nylon, PLV
    No proprietary cartridges
    Price Range: $1500

Now, after researching every printer in my price range, I have settled on the Robox:
    http://www.cel-robox.com/technical/

The Robox is yet another crowd-funded printer that started shipping earlier this year. It meets all of the above requirements. It even surpasses some (20 microns, more than 4 materials). However, they are currently sold out and not shipping any more until December. Since I can't wait that long, I've started looking at other options. In particular, I've been eyeing the MakerBot Mini and the Flashforge Creator Dual. I'm leaning more towards a MakerBot Replicator II clone like the FlashForge, but the lack of an auto-leveling bed for most of these is a major downer for me. In considering a MakerBot itself, I've found that it and most of its clones do not print nylon, which the FlashForge does.

Another thing I realized about getting a Robox is that they are not well-known and there doesn't seem to be much community support for them (for example, no specific forum for them here). Is anyone familiar with them? Am I correct in thinking I will not get much community help if I do end up purchasing one?

What other printers would you recommend in my price range? Is it unrealistic to look for nylon printing, dual extruders, and an auto-leveling bed at a price point under $1500?