Close

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

New - can't get started.

Hi can someone help please, I am new to 3D printing & to this forum. The printer is set up but not sticking to the base so failing at the starting point. Its a Labists. OOL

Engineer-in-Training
    Add jamcultur on Thingiverse
    Are you saying that the print isn't sticking to the build plate? Your nozzle might be too far from your build plate. Try leveling your build plate.

Hi Thanks for the reply, Yes that's correct. Its self leveling but I will try to lower it. Is there a way to stop the print head from moving while I adjust it? Should the base plate by luke warm , warm or hot to the touch? Also the PLA material comes out very curly & not straight from the print head is that normal?

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    well labists sell two printers an et4 and a mini x1.
    Both look to have bed levelling knobs - so you should be good there.
    The onbly one with 'auto-levelling' is the et4 - so well assume that's the thing you have.

If the filament comes out curly, it usually means it's not hot enough or it's being extruded too fast.

Okay looking at the machine it appears to be a pretty standard ender 3 design.
    So if you look up 'help with and how to' videos for ender 3 (and there are millions) - most should be relevant, to one degree or another.

Lets get this clear:
    Auto bed levelling does NOT level a bed.

It simply maps the bed topographically and allows for beds that are not perfectly flat (ie: the manfacturers can use thinner and cheaper surfaces).
    You still need to actually level the bed using teh levelling knobs at each corner.

This actually means that you determine how far from the bed the printhead is when you start printing.

Remove filament from the nozzle - heat it first :-)
    Heat the nozzle to 200c (it's an arbitrary number but as it's what you should be printing most pla at - a good number to pick)