Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Our Printerbot Simple Maker Edition Build

We had a "Summer Lull" in activity last week. My son has a couple of weeks before heading out to the third annual MAKE Magazine 3D Printer Shoot Out and our Kossels are done and printing, sooo, I bought a 30 year old Porsche to refurbish and he got a Printerbot Simple Maker's Edition to build.
    Here are some pictures of his first evening with the Printerbot. He said it was a very straight forward and simple build. Will post more reports later.

Meanwhile, I am busy with the car project. I hope to be finished before Maker Faire in Sept. (but I will not be driving it to NY!)

Printerbot Build https://www.flickr.com/photos/jabell...7645452382767/

photo 4 (6).jpg

Engineer
    nice john! since restoring ars is part of what i do for a living...take whatever you had figured it was going to cost to do the car plus the amt of time and at a min double it. haha. car projects always cost way more and take way more time than everyone plans.

haha!!! i love the bag he got with the bomb on it. thats awesome and a great way for the company to get their point across....awesome!

I am restoring the car for my grandson. He is 9 months old! In the meantime, my son will enjoy it. I have restored dozens of cars over the years so I am aware of the spiraling cost and time estimates.
    Last edited by JohnA136; 07-23-2014 at 04:45 PM.

Engineer
    ahhh well thats good john. atleast you have some experience in the field. at only 9 mos apparently you have plenty of time to complete the project as well lol.

Took about 4 hours to build the Printerbot (including a short dinner break). Last night it was time to calibrate the optical end stops and do a test print. Here is short clip of it's first print, the obligatory 20mm test cube.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7pdu54pkXdU