Close



Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Missing holes

  1. #1
    Student
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Wyckoff NJ
    Posts
    7

    Missing holes

    Could someone tell me what is wrong with the attacvhed STL file. Holes don't print in Cura and I see red surfaces. I know there are programs to fix issues but I want to know what is wrong with the file.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Technologist
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Location
    Monterey Bay, California
    Posts
    140
    Add jamcultur on Thingiverse
    Meshmixer found one non-manifold area and two holes in the mesh. Those problems appear to be associated with a surface of zero thickness on the the left side of the STL. There also appear to be other smaller surfaces of zero thickness on the right side of the model. Meshmixer wasn't able to fix the problems. How did you make this STL?

  3. #3
    Student
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Wyckoff NJ
    Posts
    7
    Thanks. It was made with eMachineShop CAD.

  4. #4
    Technologist
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Location
    Monterey Bay, California
    Posts
    140
    Add jamcultur on Thingiverse
    I suggest you contact eMachineShop and see if they have a fix. If not, you might want to try another free CAD program, like BlocksCAD or Tinkercad. They're both good at generating valid STL files.

  5. #5
    Student
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Wyckoff NJ
    Posts
    7

    Meshmixer

    Attached is another file I can't print. Meshmixer | Edit | Make Solid skips the rectangular side holes and rounds edges. Does anyone know how to fix this in Meshmixer or another program so I can print this part? Thanks.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    7,859
    your stl works perfectly in simplify3d.
    This picture is after slicing.
    No error messages, looks fine.


    whjat slicer are you using ?

  7. #7
    Student
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Wyckoff NJ
    Posts
    7
    Tnx but I'm using Cura (3.6.20 Lulzbot edition). In another post I asked how to use current Cura with Lulzbot but no reply so far.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    7,859
    I don't use cura - but there is nothing wrong with the stl.

    meshmixer aside the best way I know to 'launder' an stl file and make it ultra compatible is to load it into tinkercad and then export it back out.

    That pretty much fixes any anomalies I've ever found in stl files that are fussy about slicers and software they will work with.

  9. #9
    Did you fix it?

  10. #10
    Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    7,859
    cura has issues.
    people forget that it's made ny ultimaker specifically for their own printers.
    They've just shared it with the world. But it's really not very user friendly.
    And the newer it is the worst it seems to get.
    The last version I could actually get on with was 13.'something'.
    Better layout all round.

    There are a bunch of customised cura versions around as well.
    prusa slicer seems to be among the best.

    Also repetier with slic3r is easier to use and also has the advantage that it also has built in printer control.
    Then there are all the ones that run off raspberry pi's and a bunch of other free ones as well.

    I've pretty much given up trying to keep track of them.
    At one point I'd try all the new ones - but none have even come close to bneing as good as simplify3d.

    But many of them were definitely easier to use than cura :-)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •