Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Looking for Light weight 3d printer

Hello, I am totally new to 3d printing. I am also travelling soon which I just decided to buy a 3d printer. I am looking for something light weight, that doesn't take a lot of space, some bigger 3d printer. Open source would be nice but not necessary. I really don't have a price range but I don't mind spending up to a thousand or 2 if its really advance. Don't forget it will go in a luggage so it needs to be light weight and disassembled. I could leave the filaments maybe and only take 3d printer so base is more important. I can buy the filaments when I arrive.

Oh i need something I can get on amazon or some reputable place that ships fast which i need with in a week or so.

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    where are you going ?
    It's relevant :-)

And no there is nothing of any size that is 'lightweight'.

Engineer-in-Training
    Add jamcultur on Thingiverse
    The smallest lightest FDM printer I know of is the Monoprice Mini Delta. The shipping weight is 10 pounds, so the printer itself would be less than that. It has a handle on top, but doesn't have a carrying case.

The Phrozen Sonic Mini is a resin printer that is smaller in size than the Mini Delta, but about the same weight. I suspect that it is more fragile than the Mini Delta, and I'm sure that airlines wouldn't let you carry the resin with you.

Amazon carries both of those printers.

I've traveled with my Ultimaker 2 Go, which weighs 13.5 pounds and came with a nice carrying case, but it wasn't fun. Maybe you could find a Makerspace where you are going, and join it while you are there. That would give you access to 3D printers and people who could help you use them.

Engineer-in-Training
    I just saw on Amazon that the Monoprice Mini Delta weighs 4 pounds. I don't think you'll find anything lighter.
    https://www.amazon.com/Monoprice-Pri...07CJQ3D6L?th=1

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar