Close

question about adhesive

Hi,I'm very new to 3d printing, I just recently got the 3d printer (Ender 3 pro) and got the settings roughly where I want themmy build plate was not flat, there was a very slight dip in he middle, enough to make it impossible to level it with the knobs without either nothing sticking in the middle or scratching the plate at the edges. so, I removed the magnetic build plate and put a creality carbon glass build plate there instead, I don't know what the carbon part means, but it has a surface that supposedly makes stuff stick when it's heated and lets go really easily when bed cools down.my builds seem to let go mid print when the model contracts, so the sticking isn't strong enough. is it safe to use adhesive even if the glass plate has this structure? or will the structure on the surface be ruined by the adhesive?

That is a question for creality but if what they sold you is not working then add some glue stick and see what happens. Most adhesion issues are caused by incorrect Z offset (distance between nozzle and plate. Inexpensive printers the the Creality are not built to maintain the exacting tolerance need so most folks make the first layer squished so the plastic sticks better or they add adhesive which reduces the space between the plat an nozzle allowing for better adhesion. If you happen to be printing with ABS, then there is also the fact that your printer needs to be in a heated enclosure to use ABS or it will warp and pop off mid print..
    Good luck

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    the other thing to try first is to slow your first layer speed down.
    10mm/s is what I usually aim for, but for anything with small parts or very little surface on the plate, I will go down as slow as 5mm/s.