Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Converting Mesh to Solid

Hi all! I'm fairly new to 3D printing, but I work as a Draftsman for a mechanical company. I use Autocad inventor, so this is what I mainly use for all my drawing and design work.

I'm not familiar with Mesh at all, and ive got a drawing I need converted to a solid so I can Edit it and 3D print it. I have attached it to this post. Ideally I need it in either STEP, DXF or a solid works part file would be fine.

Any help on how I can easily achieve this with the program I have would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Austin
    Attached Files Attached Files

Staff Engineer
    I was able to import the mesh into Fusion 360, but the conversion process warned that there were too many facets. The attempt was made anyway, but the program crashed. Bringing the mesh into Meshmixer crashed a few times during the mesh reduction process, but I was eventually able to reduce the mesh by/to fifty percent.

Even though it was reduced, Fusion 360 warned me again, but did not crash. The conversion took a long time in computer terms, but eventually completed.

You requested STEP and the attached file is the zipped version of the STEP result, as the forum does not support .step files for attachments.

I hope this works for you.

If you run Windows, you can use Fusion 360 free and Meshmixer is free as well, should you require a similar task in the future.

Thanks Fred! I really appreciate all your effort. Unfortunately I still cant get that to work, the only parts that are solid when I import it is a few of the interior parts. I just need the exterior for a simple print. I will keep trying to see if I can get it to work.

Thanks!!

Staff Engineer
    Can you use/edit the STL file I've attached?

If you're running into problems, maybe a screen shot or drawing to show your objective?

I won't give up if you don't.