Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Senior Engineer

Delta printer, what electronics?

I am just making a Kossel type printer and could do with some input as to the electronics.

I really could do with using Ethernet / Wifi to transfer files and there does not seem to be a lot of choice in that area in fact I seem to have a choice of one and that is LinuxCNC on a SBC. Are there any other choices out there.

If I choose to forget the Ethernet / Wifi what should I use.

If you consider using a Raspberry Pi with Octoprint as your Wifi/Ethernet access point, you open up the electronics possibilities to pretty much any of the standard electronics packages (RAMPS, Melzi, Megatronics, etc.). It's cost-effective and reasonably mature. I've been using it for about 6 months with considerable success (plus you can stream a video feed).

The only option I'm aware of that has on-board ethernet is the Duet from RepRapPro.

Senior Engineer
    So how does one get into the standard systems? There is no USB client on the Raspi and as far as I know there is no USB client on any of the printer modules available.

Not sure what you mean by "how does one get into the standard systems." The Pi acts as a front-end to your printer and allows you to transfer files to it using the OctoPrint web server running on the pi. You just connect a USB cable between the Pi and whatever electronics package is running your computer (RAMPS, Melzi, etc.).

Take a look at the OctoPrint web site. Chances are it will answer most of your questions.

Technologist
    I've read very good things about the Smoothiebard, there's a good amount of discussion on the seeme forums about it. It's pretty pricey, but appears to have ethernet connectivity, and will be more powerful than Ramps, Rambo, etc.

http://smoothieware.org/smoothieboard

Senior Engineer
    Quote Originally Posted by 3dkarma View Post