Close

When will we be 3D printing all houses?

Hello! I am a year 9 Australian student doing a project on how 3D printing affect our poverty issues. As part of the project I have been asked to use replies on a forum as a reference. I was wondering when we will be 3D printing all houses, or if that will even happen. From what I've read, we are quickly finding ways to make it more efficient and cheaper, so will this continue on this path or is a barrier we will most likely need to overcome first? If anyone could give me good starting ground that would be fantastic, keep in mind I am quite new to this, thank you!

Add Roberts_Clif on Thingiverse
    I do not believe this will happen anytime soon, you may see 3D Printed houses for the less fortunate sooner than you would think.
    This will allow for homes to be built for much less an thous be more affordable as a way of supplying homes for everyone.

However the Richer in the world will want something that is original, handcrafted, made just for them.
    As you look around and see what the stars wearing, and were they live you will in this life time never see a 3D Printed home in one of these neighborhoods.
    Your Rich friendly neighbors would surely complain an get restraining orders to stop this monstrosity from being 3D Printed in their neighborhood.
    Most likely zoning laws would even stop the erection of such a 3D Printer from being assembled as being unsightly, even for this short period of time for the printing process.

Not every will want to live in a 3D Printed home, and choose to live in a home make with Bubinga, Bocote, Dalbergia, Lignum Vitae, Pink Ivory and Purple Heart.
    They will want there stairs wrapped with wood made of Sandlewood, African Blackwood and Agar with prices of up to $20,000 a killogram.
    Last edited by Roberts_Clif; 02-18-2019 at 08:01 AM.

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    we'll never print ALL houses.