Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

New to 3d printing, is it a good hobby?

Hello, I'm new to the forum and 3d printing in general and the only previous experience I have is an art teacher who had a 3d printer in class. I'm interested in getting a 3d printer to expand the range of DIY projects I'm able to do but I'm curious if it's a good hobby or more for a career. I basically want to know if I will be able to utilize my printer fully if I have no design background or expertise. Obviously I'm willing to learn new things but I am just asking this before I waste money. Thanks in advance!

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    absolutely it's for home and personal use.

Plus as an artistic person you should have no problem with mo9st of the design software.

As an unartictic person I use a program called openscad for designing.
    Even my stick men tend to be deformed. :-)

Have a look around www.thingiverse.com
    That will give you some idea of the sheer usefulness and versatility of even a cheap 3d printer :-)

Personally i think every one on the planet should have one and be taught basic designing at school.

Yes it is a good hobby. I saved up over a few year and bought a MakerGear M2 for the same purpose. To make the project boxes and other doohickeys I can't just go buy when I am doing a DIY or electronic project. It is like a table saw but for plastic..
    There are 3 parts to lean
    If you want to design you own parts you need some kind of CAD software ( I chose OhShape) so there is that learning curve. You can download other peoples stuff in the mean time.
    Then there is the Slicer software that turns your 3D model into what the printer will print.. This software is like a musical instrument..you have to learn how to adjust it depending on what you are printing and with what kind of plastic.
    Then there is your printer itself, setting starting height , leveling, changing nozzles... etc

So it is NOT plug and play