Close

First build doing some research.

I have been interested in building a 3d printer for about a year now. I have been seriously looking at options for about 4 months. I have looked at buying 3d printers like the Ultimaker, and others at various price points. I have looked at kits, and designs. I really like the Prusa i3 design. What are the disavantages and advantages of sourcing the parts from various places to purchasing a kit from like makerfarm?

I have about 13 years of experience in technical work in matininance, calabration, programing for robots, lead screw steppers, ect. In the past I have help build cnc routers and casting telescope mirrors.

thanks

Student
    kbpipes,

I´ve a similar background than you have and just can tell you what I did in the absolute same situation some month ago:

I was thinking about a BOM for a Prusa i3 or buying the complete kit, but finally i decided to use the kit as a general guideline. For me it was the right way to buy a complete kit and then replace some parts after the printer was basically running. Finally this solved a lot of problems and was the best way to gather some experience in 3D printing. I find out that 3d printing is quite different from working with CNC routers and recognized that I would have had several issues in my build because I had the wrong assumptions.
    Now my printer is working for some month and I changed or upgraded many parts such as the nozzle, the stepper motors, the endstops, the printer bed aso. Sure, my printer cost now a bit more money but without having personal experience I had bought the wrong parts anyway. Upgrading the printer was somehow calculated from the beginning, I never thought that a 3d Printer would be something thats works from the beginning.
    Another advantage of this build was that I know now everything about each part of my printer and do not have any problems with identifying an upcoming issue or repair my printer.