Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New in town!

New in town!

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the world of 3D printing. I just got hooked after my friend got me one last fall. I got so interested in 3D printers that I have just opened a store that includes DIY 3D printers. So far my customers have been finding the experience pretty good but I want to make sure that I understand everything that is involved with the DIY printers. I'm just trying to educate myself. Okay thanks and if anyone has anything that they think I should know, please let me know.

Thanks
    Nicole
    www.onestop3dprintershop.com

Follow ralphzoontjens On Twitter Add ralphzoontjens on Facebook Add ralphzoontjens on Shapeways Add ralphzoontjens on Thingiverse
    Hi,

Just from a consumer perspective, I would rather have a shop sell a few 3D printers that they know are well-engineered reliable machines than it selling a large amount of them that they know little about. I would like to see a small though nice range of machines that can perform different types of functions or are suited for different types of environments. It is nice to be able to choose from an entry level $400 3d printer towards a more professional one with a closed box, heated bed, multiple extruders etc. I expect the shop owner to be an expert user of these machines. I would also like the shop to sell a lot of spare parts so that for every upgrade, maintenance or repair I know I can rely on my shop.

Same for filaments, I expect it to be great quality and well-tested, the information being available on the site in the form of datasheets. Also deals like coupon codes for the next order, or free shipping when ordering 3 rolls of filament works great because it creates a bond and people are often looking to buy multiple rolls anyway.

And to be on top of the industry, this forum has a great News section. I also use Google Alerts.

Engineer-in-Training
    Hi