Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

3D printing pen or proper desktop 3d printer ?

Hey guys so i am new to the world of 3D printing and my friend currently uses a little 3D printing pen and make some cool things and she sells them but i was wondering how well can i do as a small 1 man business ? will i see a return on my initial investment ?, also which is better the 3D pen or a proper 3D desktop printer

so for example if i made little things like keyrings, tiny ornaments and other things it just worry's me it might not sell well

Engineer-in-Training
    Spend the money on a printer. A cheap one will be miles ahead of a pen.

Follow Davo On Twitter Add Davo on Facebook Add Davo on Google+ Add Davo on Shapeways Add Davo on Thingiverse
    I think a pen would actually be better for freehand, artsy stuff.

If you want to make parts with mechanical properties, you'll want a proper printer and a good CAD package.

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    and don't expect to make any money at all.

You can't sell things like keyrings, too easy to mass produce much cheaper.
    You can make money on big arty stuff - particularly with comic and film tie in's for the people who dress up in costumes.
    Geoff's the expert on that.

But otherwise - it's difficult verging towards impossible.

I guess if you are artistic then a pen might work, the stuff will look hand made which is a bonus if you are selling at craft fairs.
    If like me you can't even draw convincing stick men, then the pen is almost useless (yes I have one) and a proper printer is an essential.

Yeah if you are more of a free style artist i would say stick to the pen. With a 3d printer you would have to learn how to use designing software and also design your custom ornaments unless you get pre made designs off the internet.