Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Student

New to 3D printing

Hola,

I joined the forum because I want to get involved in 3D printing. I am a Mechanical Engineer and I have experience in Engineering Design and Product Development using software such as (AutoCAD Inventor, SolidWorks and for the past two years Siemens NX) By the end of this summer I will quit my job and I will have plenty of free time. I want to get a 3D printer and later on probably next year I want to start a prototyping business so if possible I want to get a printer that I don't have to replace right away. So what is the best way to choose my printer? Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks
    Moncada

Technician
    First let's start with your budget?

$200 to $500?

$600 to $900?

$1000+?

Depending on your budget, we can recommend different printers based on your needs.

Without any idea of budget though, I can fully recommend the QiDi Tech 3D Printer here: http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-arrival-...-/331753824735

It's a solid all metal enclosure printer, dual extruder nozzle (for when you want to print dual colors, or use support material on one nozzle while printing your main filament on the other), has led lighting, a good customer base here on the forums, good support from the manufacturer, acrylic wall enclosures, heated bed platform (for using more materials than just PLA), and is pretty much fully upgradeable/customizable due to a large support base. Usually runs around $650 if you do a Best Offer to the seller on eBay.

It's a great entry into 3D Printing, and any issues you may encounter can usually be resolved or helped by those here on the forums, and it comes pre-built for you already (and includes filament).

A few things.

1/ The volume of the objects you intend to print is important. Take it into account when you choose. Avoids uselessly condemning yourself to glueing components 15cms wide.