Close

3D print strength issues, HELP

Well to start off I am very new to the 3d world and have no engineering background. I have attempted to design a dome in solidworks and it came out quite well...on my screen that is.

I made the mistake of purchasing a Cube 3 which does not let you set custom infills (I feel like If I could choose 100% my problems will be over.)

My design is very similar to this and this, I used solidworks and made a similar thing but then added threads to both parts so they can be unscrewed and screwed back on. I have a shell settings of 2mm (maybe that is my issue?)

When I print the first inch of the project (then cancel to test fit) it comes out very weak and flimsy. In the 2mm shell there is actually a gap! I do not know if I just have to design it differently in solidworks or if I have to get another 3d printer.

I do have access to a CubePro, I will try my print on that later. I think you can set 90% infill.. but still not 100... (URG)

Any advice?

Follow ServiceXp On Twitter Add ServiceXp on Google+ Add ServiceXp on Thingiverse
    A picture of the failed print would be helpful.

Follow Davo On Twitter Add Davo on Facebook Add Davo on Google+ Add Davo on Shapeways Add Davo on Thingiverse
    It is rare to print things at anything near 100% infill in my experience. Put up some pictures and maybe screenshots so that we can give helpful suggestions.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MS3kb4AwY-w

I want something thats rigid (and would snap before I could bend it like that)

Thanks

I changed it from 2mm to 4mm - Would going to ABS make it stronger? Then I could change it to 2mm or 3mm? For a RC Airplane so weight is important. Il upload the STL shortly.

Follow ServiceXp On Twitter Add ServiceXp on Google+ Add ServiceXp on Thingiverse