Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Student

3D modelling software for 3D printing - which to use? (ideally parametric & free)

Hello

I need to decide which free (or nearly free) 3D modeling software to use for 3D printing.

Background
    I am new to 3D Printing. I need is a very low cost/free solid modeler which ideally should be parametric (I think!).

Application
    I am designing consumer products that will be made from injection molded plastic. The geometry will be 'slightly complex' (with lots of rounded corners and extrusions following curved lines), however it will be fairly 'mathematical' rather than free-form.

OPTIONS SO FAR:

1. Sketchup Make
    I have spent about 1 week learning Sketchup. It is not good at solids and I didn't get on well with it. Although it has a fantastic inference engine, and an amazingly active user community, I found it buggy and tending to create meshes with holes in it. Also it does not seem very 'parametric' (if that's the right word) meaning it's hard to change the fundamentals of a design after you have detailed it.

2. 123D Design (Autodesk)
    My local makerspace expert says 123D Design is very good for 3D printing. I have installed and spent a couple of hours on it. Initially it looks dead easy. However I have found that certain things such as the magnetic "Cruising" function... although they look brilliant, they can be pretty chunky in practice. (e.g. the only way I could get cruising to work was to do things in a very deliberate order and hold down the shift key at just the right moment - which appears to be undocumented??) Also clicking seems unreliable. And changing the size of objects seems clunky. I couldn't get a to follow a path when offset from the path like you can in Sketchup...
    Either way, many users have commented that they "run out of power" when using it, however.

3. Fusion 360 (Autodesk)