Close

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Recomend printer? Noob w/ spacific needs & budget.

Hello all! I'm new to both this forum & 3d printing. I have been shopping around for my first 3d printer, and am quite surprised by the wide variety on the market. Can I get some answers & recommendations from those more experienced than I am? I have questions regarding printers, scanners and capabilities of both. I know there's a lot of question that I'm asking, so please bear with me. I build full blown custom scale model cars for a hobby (1:25 scale) and want to use a 3d printer to make 1 of a kind custom parts & bodies. I have 30 years experience with building models, and think that 3d printers can take my hobby in a whole new direction. I have limited experience with CAD & blueprints so I can probably handle the design end of 3d printing.

First question: Model car bodies can be quite thin, in some areas they can tapper to less than 1 MM in thickness. The thicker areas are usually no more than a couple MM in thickness. Can I print a body? I'm thinking there would be warping & rigidity issues. Can this be addressed by reinforcing the body with some sort of gusset during the printing process? Reinforcements that can be removed after printing? Any suggestions for making something so thin that wont get warped or twisted?

Second question: Models can have very small & fine detail, such as emblems, lettering, moldings, locks, ect. What is the likelihood of being able to successfully print such small details?

Third question: In addition to printing bodies, I also want to print parts such as engine blocks, carbs, air cleaners, seats, wheels, superchargers, mirrors, ect. These parts can get pretty small. Can 3d printers make a model car part as small as a 1/4 of an inch & still show good detail?