Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Would a 3d printer work for me ?

I run a small business making figurines from silicone moulds.
    I am self taught so I get by but my moulds are not perfect and i usually have a lot of repair work on the more complicated castings.

I have a dream of just buying a 3d scanner scanning my sculptures in and just printing them out ,lol But i'm guessing its not as easy as it sounds ?

I also want to make make spherical "trinket" boxes , I have the prototype which is a hollow sphere in two halves that slot together. Is it at all feasible to just take a scan of the two halves and print it. I would be happy to sand and finish the finished product. I'm not expecting perfection , just would love to bypass the tiresome silicone mold making process.

Also can 3d printed object be painted ?

Thanks for any advice

Staff Engineer
    Everything you're talking about can be done - to some extent. But these processes all have their limitations. Yes, you can scan sculptures and print them out. But just as you've noticed with your molds, the scans won't necessarily be perfect, and the prints might have artifacts of the process you'll need to remedy somehow.

Without seeing the specific trinket boxes you refer to, it's hard to say how well they'd scan. But they sound like something that might best be constructed from scratch in a CAD modeling program.

There are many different 3D printing processes, so one can't generalize too much, but most kinds of 3D prints can be painted.

Andrew Werby
    www.computersculpture.com

Thankyou , very helpful

Will think of other questions to ask

10418458_792995834081139_1638491326844594249_n.jpg ok so this is what i currently make with a silicone mold , but it has hinges which are a pain & the halves don't fit exactly so it needs sanding & drilling.