Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

3d scanners under $1000 worth the money?

Hey guys,

I've been browsing the web looking for a 3d scanner. I'm a beginner and find 3d modeling a bit time consuming. Especially when it comes to intricate shapes. I am printing on my Ultimaker (and Shapeways occasionally)
    However, when I look at the 3d scanners <$1000 they seem to produce quite nasty/low res results.
    Is that just where the tech is at the moment? Or does anyone have (or have used) a scanner that they are really happy with?
    Any recommendations? I've looked at MatterAndForm, Rubicon, Fuel3d (available yet?), Einscan (expensive, not sure about the quality), David Scan (really expensive, nice quality).

any help appreciated.
    -Jack

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    I think it's where the tech is at the moment.

I don't think it's so much the hardware. Most of the budget scanners will resolve at 0.1 mm for close up items and 1mm for things like people - both of which should do most people for most things. But the editing and meshing software doesn't seem to be quite there yet.

Once the intel realsense chipset and cameras start to make a regular appearence in cheaper portable devices, we should start to see a lot more software hitting the market.

At the moment what scanner systems there are all use their own propriatary software and chipsets.

That was one thing that was notable by it's absence at tct this year. No desktop scanners, no desktop scanner startups and only the makerbot scanner in evidence and the only one we saw wasn't running.

I have an Einscan1 and very happy with it.
    0.1 mm accuracy
    Almost below 1000 usd
    Ease of use, calibrate once.

Follow Bobby Lin On Twitter Add Bobby Lin on Facebook Add Bobby Lin on Google+
    I tried Rubicon at around $600 USD and it has a good precision, accuracy and quality. However now I switched to 3d System's iSense.

Technologist