Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Printing speed variation through time in Filament Fusion Fabrication 3D printing

I recently decided to upgrade my software for my Flashforge 3D printer from Makerware to some open source program that is being updated.

After a thorough search I didn't find any programs that offer variable speed settings throughout the print.

So I started wondering, how difficult is it to write a program that will slice the model onto variable height slices and vary the print speed as the printer prints near the table, in the middle of the part or up high.
    GUI for this feature may look something like a color and transparency slider used for the gradient coloring in Adobe products.

This can solve a lot of curling, warping and peeling issues and reduce the wear and tear on the machine.

If one is printing an arch that is supported by two columns, the columns are vertical and can have lower resolution than the arch in some cases.
    I am not a computer programmer and I dont have time for such large projects. I wish I could do it.

--Vladimir

I seem to remember reading about some software that could so something similar
    but did not try it since it was not compatible with firmware in our printer.

I can not remember it's name but I will try to find it again.

It's a Great idea !

It doesn't have to be compatible. It needs to generate G code and M code that will work with any printer. Perhaps I should talk to Slicr folks.

I have many ideas on how to improve the FFF 3D printer.

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    simplify 3d lets you do that :-)

It also automatically adjusts print speed according to what's being printed anyway.

But you can set different resolutions/speeds/infill etc for any part of the print.
    Last edited by curious aardvark; 09-23-2015 at 10:59 AM.

Yes, I just found that Simplify3D is the one I was thinking about that has Variable-speed.