Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Student

Feedback on the Makergear M2 vs. Lulzbot TAZ 5 please

Hello,
    Newbie here researching 3d printer options for our company. We want a machine to make prototypes with. Most of what we'd be making are prototypes of fabricated steel brackets. I'm looking for something with a bigger build size than the Fastforge Creator or Dreamer. It seems like most printers in the $1000-1500 price range have a smaller build size.
    The ones I've been considering are the Makergear M2 and the Lolzbot TAZ 5. I've searched (here and the web) for all the info I can find on the two and they seem pretty even as far as specs and reviews.
    I'd really appreciate and feedback you can give, or any other options I should consider.
    Thank you!
    Chad

Engineer
    well chad i cant give you a comparison but i can help you with anything you need to know about makergear or the m2 since i have 4 of them. great machine, great company. build quality is awesome. the m2 single head is now shipping with the new v4 extruder...just an fyi. i can say the makergear just works. they are workhorse machines that just run and run. i have one machine that has to have aprox 7-8000 hours on it. its still rockin and prints as clean as the day i opened it up.

Student
    Jim,
    Thank you for the info on the M2. Honestly, that's the one I'm leaning more towards, but the TAV 5 has a bit larger build area which is very appealing as it would fit some of our larger brackets better.

Engineer
    best thing you can do chad is come to the makergear forum, introduce yourself and ask questions. the group there are really awesome and helpful. if you look around there you'll be hard pressed to find anyone that isnt completely happy with their m2.

Hi,
    I posted some of what I do with a Printrbot Metal Plus here : http://3dprintboard.com/forumdisplay...rintrbot-Forum