Close

Exclamation Please help with gaps in print

Hi there All,

First time poster here, however I have been reading lots and lots of post on this (and other forums) I have been assembling and modifying a makerfarm 12" i3v for 2 months now (wow time flies). I still have a problem with gaps in prints and would like some advice on what the issue might be. I am going to get fairly detailed in information, so please forgive the post length.

First of all the picture below is an example of a recent print
    gaps.jpg

Some print settings:
    1.75mm filament, PLA, 60 heatbed temp, 200 first layer temp, 190 for rest, printed onto buildtac, volcano hot end 0.6 nozzle, stock makerfarm (greg's hinged with herringbone gears) cold end (extruder). Filament is sitting on a spool roller with PTFE tube right to the cold end.

Slicer settings:
    Nozzle Diameter 0.6, zoffset -0.2, speed set at 80mm a second. 50% speed for first layer. Layer height is 0.36 and first layer height is 0.36, 1 bottom shell, 1 vertical shell, random seam position, wipe and retract on layer change not set (no retraction for this print - more on that to come)

Other related upgrades/checks:
    Have checked belt tensions
    Have upgraded to a 6mm aluminium bed and a 3mm aluminium build plate
    Have printed a new x-carriage in pla and attached to stiffen old wooden x-carriage
    Have reduced stepping on x and y motors
    Printed fan shroud and attached 40mm fan to cool print
    Have calibrated extruder by running the 100mm check and then reducing by 5% (then add 1%) until extrusion width is 0.60
    Have turned down max acceleration, feedrate and jerk settings. Feedrate (250,250,2,15) Max acceleration (500,500,500,500), Jerk (10,10,10,10)
    Have turned retraction speed down to 10
    Have tried different PLA from another manufacturer (colorfab)