Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Student

FlashForge Creator Pro, can get filament to stick to table

Hey all,
    Total newb here. I just bought a Flash Forge Creator Pro and am trying to run the 20mm calibration cube as a first part. I have been trying unsuccessfully for two days now to get a line to stick. I have gone to the control panel and pre heated it to 220 for filament and 115 for bed temps. I am running the ABS that came with the printer. I have calibrated the table with a sheet of paper as well. I just cannot get a line to stick to the table. I have tried Painters tape, but to no avail. ANY HELP IS GREATLY APPRECIATED!

Thanks!

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    you've used decent blue painters tape.
    I had this problem with abs. Only way I could get it to stick reliably was to use a raft.

What you actually need is to slow the first layer down to about 10% of the the rest of the print. That's one reason why rafts work so well. They always go down really really slowly.

Also 220 is very low for abs, at that temp it'll be fairly stiff and unsticky. Try hotter. 230, 235 and 240.

What software are your using for the slicer ?

Add Marm on Thingiverse
    I never had good results with tape, Glue is an option.

Student
    I am trying to run with the Slicr slicing program, it just sounded good.

Also, I have tried to heat the table up to 125 and 245 for the extruder, just to give it a go. Unfortunately according to the sceen on the front of the printer it looks like it tries to cool everything down to about 100 table and 200 extruder. The printer seems to position the head at about 0-x and 0-y and hold there until the temps drop, I am guessing that is a big part of my problem. Sometimes it helps to walk away from things for a while and clear your head. Will I have to tap in to the G-code and raise the temps to start printing at?

Student
    Quote Originally Posted by Marm View Post
    I never had good results with tape, Glue is an option.