Close



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1

    Printing Spheres

    is it possible to print one piece spheres with a hole of a specific size?

    thank you

  2. #2
    Staff Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Oakland, CA
    Posts
    935
    Yes. But you need to start with a solid model that's watertight.

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by awerby View Post
    Yes. But you need to start with a solid model that's watertight.
    thank you for your response.

    i think i did not describe adequately what i want to do.

    i need hollow spheres with a round hole in the wall.

    to be used as resonators.
    Last edited by urglik; 05-17-2015 at 07:35 PM.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Roxy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Lone Star State
    Posts
    2,182
    Fire up OpenScad and put this code in... You will get what you want.

    Sphere_with_holes.jpg

  5. #5
    Technologist
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    107
    I was able to draw a sphere with the "follow me" tool in Sketchup.

    The details are in the Sketchup knowledge base.

    You may need to draw 2, an inner wall and an outer wall.

    You can easily draw a circle on the surface and push it through the 2 walls with the extruder tool.

    Quote Originally Posted by urglik View Post
    thank you for your response.

    i think i did not describe adequately what i want to do.

    i need hollow spheres with a round hole in the wall.

    to be used as resonators.

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Roxy View Post
    Fire up OpenScad and put this code in... You will get what you want.

    Sphere_with_holes.jpg
    thank you very much. i will get my head around it. much appreciated.

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by robosmith View Post
    I was able to draw a sphere with the "follow me" tool in Sketchup.

    The details are in the Sketchup knowledge base.

    You may need to draw 2, an inner wall and an outer wall.

    You can easily draw a circle on the surface and push it through the 2 walls with the extruder tool.
    thank you for this. i've used sketchup a little. mostly because it seemed it might be easier to learn then others.
    i appreciate the input

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by urglik View Post
    thank you very much. i will get my head around it. much appreciated.
    hey roxy,
    this is fun. i like entering code to get models or a mesh i guess. new to all this. the openscad user manual seems well written. this is making sense.
    i played with the code you gave me because i need a sphere with one hole only.
    i was able to accomplish this as shown, but had some questions.
    i don't understand why the second hole would not disappear until i reduced the cylinder height to 60
    and how is this connected to the translate variables?
    and i was wondering what makes the cylinder a child of the sphere?

    Clipboard01.jpg
    Last edited by urglik; 05-20-2015 at 01:27 PM.

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Roxy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Lone Star State
    Posts
    2,182
    Quote Originally Posted by urglik View Post
    hey roxy,
    this is fun. i like entering code to get models or a mesh i guess. new to all this. the openscad user manual seems well written. this is making sense.
    i played with the code you gave me because i need a sphere with one hole only.
    i was able to accomplish this as shown, but had some questions.
    i don't understand why the second hole would not disappear until i reduced the cylinder height to 60
    and how is this connected to the translate variables?
    and i was wondering what makes the cylinder a child of the sphere?

    Clipboard01.jpg
    Normally, it is easier to see what is going on in OpenScad. But you picked a particularly difficult idea to see. However, if you go back to the original code I posted I'll walk you through it. Grab that original code and put it back into OpenScad. Then change this line to have a # in front of it:

    # translate([0,0,-50]) cylinder(r=5, h=100,$fn=50);

    When ever you put a # in front of something it will display that object. So you will see a cylinder translated down to z=-50 and going up to z=+50. That object is being subtracted from the hollow sphere. You might have to do a Design/Render followed by a View/Animate to see the # object.

    You can't see inside of the hollow sphere very well, but you could make it so you just get one hole by changing that line to:

    # cylinder(r=5, h=100,$fn=50);

    Now the cylinder is just as tall but it starts with its bottom at the origin. If you want to see inside the sphere and how the cylinder is positioned, you might try cutting away the first quadrant. Try this code so you can look inside:

    sphere_with_holes();


    module sphere_with_holes() {
    difference() {
    sphere(r=20, $fn=40);
    sphere(r=18, $fn=40);
    #cylinder(r=3.375, h=100, $fn=50);

    cube([500,500,500]); // cut away the 1st quadrant
    }
    }
    Last edited by Roxy; 05-22-2015 at 09:56 AM.

  10. #10
    # translate([0,0,-50]) cylinder(r=5, h=100,$fn=50);

    When ever you put a # in front of something it will display that object. So you will see a cylinder translated down to z=-50 and going up to z=+50. That object is being subtracted from the hollow sphere. You might have to do a Design/Render followed by a View/Animate to see the # object.

    You can't see inside of the hollow sphere very well, but you could make it so you just get one hole by changing that line to:

    # cylinder(r=5, h=100,$fn=50);

    Now the cylinder is just as tall but it starts with its bottom at the origin. If you want to see inside the sphere and how the cylinder is positioned, you might try cutting away the first quadrant. Try this code so you can look inside:

    sphere_with_holes();


    module sphere_with_holes() {
    difference() {
    sphere(r=20, $fn=40);
    sphere(r=18, $fn=40);
    #cylinder(r=3.375, h=100, $fn=50);

    cube([500,500,500]); // cut away the 1st quadrant
    }
    }
    Well, nicely defined by the code....I will try this code later. Generally, as a standard printer needs directions to let it know what to do ordinarily from some kind of word preparing archive the printing.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •