Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Follow ServiceXp On Twitter Add ServiceXp on Google+ Add ServiceXp on Thingiverse

Question Lets Talk "Air Cleaner"

Ok, I'm new to 3D Printing and all that goes along with it. I've been reading about some of the "hazzards" of printing inside a small room, and while I don't think there has been any "real" empirical studies on the matter, it has lead me to think about how to clean some of those particles up while printing.

Thoughts: (As they pertain to FFC Pro in a room that doesn't allow for external exhausting)

1) Would guess that it's better to recirculate within the enclosure, as apposed to drawling air through the machine and filtering on the way out? (to keep interior temperatures from dropping)
    2) Would guess this filtration system should be located high in the enclosure or in the canopy? (I would think that the particulate would be carried up with heat)
    3) Not sure what filtering material that would be needed, but I would guess that <.3 microns would be required?

Technologist
    What makes you believe printing creates a lot of fine particles?

I would think any hazards would be more associated with gasses from melting plastic.

Follow ServiceXp On Twitter Add ServiceXp on Google+ Add ServiceXp on Thingiverse
    From what I've been reading, it's the nano-particles from melting ABS that's seems to be the concern.

Engineer-in-Training
    I think that this is a little bit overblown. I have been in injection mold shops for over 20 years and they don't run air purification systems or protective respirators. . Injection molding ABS in molds the size of a TV set frame all day if this was a serious problem they would have had to address it. I am not saying it's good for you but beyond the smell I doubt you are in much danger in the amounts we are working with.

Quote Originally Posted by Todd-67 View Post