Close

Makerbot plugged up and Customer Service

I am a High school teacher who has a had a MakerBot Replicator 2 and now a 5th Generation Replicator. Makerbot after a 6 week down time finally replaced our Replicator 2 with a new Replicator 5th generation. It worked for 2 days.
    Their customer service is awful I don't care attitude and response time is days often not solving the issue.
    Our new 5th generation did 2 prints and stopped feeding filament. I'm still waiting for them to do something since last Thursday.
    I have 2 questions:
    First does anyone have a way to unclog the new 5th generation.\
    Second am I the only one who has customer service issues with them or is this typical?

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    Unfortunately it's a growing issue - both with the gen 5 and makerbot aftersales.
    The fact that they've just sacked 20% of their workforce - probably won't help matters either.

Basically it's a dodgy machine and they don't seem to care.

Yup, Stratasys just bought them out. Hopefully now they can make a good machine.

Quote Originally Posted by curious aardvark View Post
    Unfortunately it's a growing issue - both with the gen 5 and makerbot aftersales.
    The fact that they've just sacked 20% of their workforce - probably won't help matters either.
    I think this explains the reason. Had a not so pleasant experience with their support aswell.

Student
    Quote Originally Posted by voodoo28 View Post
    Yup, Stratasys just bought them out. Hopefully now they can make a good machine.