Close

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Do i have to learn CAD

Newbie here, just wanted to know for working with 3D printers what software should i learn, like solid works ?

I would personaly recommend Solidworks,
    But you also have sketchup and other free programs,

I would recommend to learn it as you wont be to able to make your own objects otherwise.

Add Geoff on Thingiverse
    I'm a Blender fan, it's free and very powerful and there's countless youtube tutorials for it.

Sketchup all the way, until you want to do more advanced things. I mostly use trackpads so i can't use blender much without a mouse

Quote Originally Posted by DrLuigi View Post
    I would personaly recommend Solidworks,
    But you also have sketchup and other free programs,

I would recommend to learn it as you wont be to able to make your own objects otherwise.
    Ok, i was looking at Solid and Rhino and Blender but it looks like solid is very commercial for making parts and others are animation related... ?

Super Moderator
    Quote Originally Posted by Tesla View Post
    Ok, i was looking at Solid and Rhino and Blender but it looks like solid is very commercial for making parts and others are animation related... ?
    Animation is a superset of 3D modeling. Blender does both. To do just 3D modeling with it, ignore the animation features.

Engineer