Close

Putting a Kraken Printhead on the FlashForge Creator Pro

Hello folks -

I'm new to the 3dPrint world, but am trying to make the immediate jump to printing with nylon. A FlashForge Creator Pro has arrived in my school's department and has the basic ABS / PLA threads with a dual-extruder.

To avoid putting materials with different melting points through the same extruder head, I've taken a notice of the Kraken quad extruder.

As I research what people have accomplished with the Creator Pro, I'd really appreciate hearing from the forum's experience about:

1) installing the Kraken head (or any different printhead) onto the Creator Pro
    and
    2) Whether the Creator Pro can handle the higher melting point of nylon (~255C). From what I've seen early, the high temperatures may weaken components around the extruder, which may put the kibosh on the whole deal.

Any references or suggestions on these would be very helpful. Thank you!

=

Student
    Putting different materials through the same extruder shouldn't be a problem. You just need to make sure you flush it out at the melting temp for your highest temp rated material. Did that make sense? Lol. For example, when switching from ABS to PLA. I print my ABS around 230C and my PLA around 200C. Make sure you use 230C (or your particular ABS heat setting) to unload the ABS and to load the PLA and let it run for a tad to clear out the old material. This will make sure the material that was removed melts and gets flushed out. Then you can just set your temps as you normally would and print away.

What type of Nylon are you printing with? I know that plenty of people print with the stock setup with some of the Taulman filaments, for example. I think some of those can print at under 250C.