Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unusual Object To Print - Tech Query

Hi,

Hopefully this is in the right folder!

I've just purchase a DaVinci for printing 3d conservatory and sunroom models.

I have never done this before and have a quick question - will the model below print ok or do you think the roof will fall when it begins to print because there is no structure underneath it?

Thank you in advance for your assistance.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Follow Davo On Twitter Add Davo on Facebook Add Davo on Google+ Add Davo on Shapeways Add Davo on Thingiverse
    Most FFF printers will print that fine without support.

Engineer-in-Training
    I disagree, that roof looks like a fairly steep overhang and the window openings in the walls/doors are definitely going to be a problem. With active cooling it may be possible but you'd probably get best results adding supports. A finished part like that is open enough to allow for removal of the support and a light sanding to smooth everything out so it looks nice for your clients. Alternatively you could print it very small and rely on bridging but I imagine that would defeat the purpose of having a physical model.

Follow Davo On Twitter Add Davo on Facebook Add Davo on Google+ Add Davo on Shapeways Add Davo on Thingiverse
    If that's printed with 4" on each side, each window is less than an inch of bridging. The roof looks like about 35 degrees. I don't see a problem.

Post the .stl and let's see what we can do.

Unles you print too small and the various beam sections are under 5mm² it should be fine.

Alternatively : cut your model in 2 at the windows top Z. That way no overhangs for the windows and you can put some support for the roof.

Add Marm on Thingiverse
    Quote Originally Posted by Davo View Post
    Most FFF printers will print that fine without support.

HA the davinci won't. It won't even print it correctly without a roof. It doesn't like thin vertical objects like those studs.