Close

writing into the 3d print

Hi there,

I am not an expert on any level. I was given a task to find a 3d printer that is capable of printing good quality products and most importantly it can write into the print( i assume thats why everyone says i need 2 colour printer so the text can be printed like the surface of the object is printer using colour A the for the text part the printer uses colour B.

Can someone point me towards the direction where can i find out more about what printer would do the best job? IM not on budget too much, however i would not spend 10s of 1000 of euros.

any help would be greatly appreciated.

Engineer-in-Training
    I think almost any 2-extruder printer could do this. More important is probably the design of the item, and the know-how of the person operating the machine.

A faster start might be to find a local person on MakeXYZ.com and ask if they can design and print your part in 2 colors.

Technician
    maker bots do most jobs pretty well, and what's available today, if u want the next level of quality, go laser sintering

Technician
    Wot about Wanhao duplicator? It also have dubble 2-extruder. Or you wait to the end of the year, we got some new kickstarter printer releasing quite soon.

Super Moderator curious aardvark's Avatar
    basically any dual extruder will do this.

3d printing is 80% about the design of the part. I find it's pretty easy to add text with openscad. And makerware software allows you to simply add a text file to any existing model (within reason).

And text can also be indented or raised for single extruders. That's pretty effective as well.

So depending on what you actually want to do - potentially any 3d printer would work.

You're going to need to add some more criteria: ease of use, budget, material preferences etc :-)