Close



Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18
  1. #11
    Good morning!!!

    I have same problem!! Anything new??

  2. #12
    Combines two problem:

    Read time out
    Packet timed out
    Serial error:
    Input/Output error in WriteArray

    And

    platorm se binary has stopped working


  3. #13
    Mine is doing the same thing. Was printing great and now i cannot get past the rafting to print anything. I am using replicator g. gonna try sailfish

  4. #14
    Super Moderator RobH2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    803
    Add RobH2 on Thingiverse
    Sounds like an epidemic or printer ebola. I have the problem too. I have a Makerfarm with RAMPS and Marlin. I can heat the bed and heads and it will sit there heated all day long. I replaced the power supply just to eliminate it as a cause and that didn't help.

    What happens to me is that it will print for about 45 seconds and then it slows down and just halts. You can hear it slow down over about 3 seconds time. After it's stopped, if I try to raise the head with slicer controls it makes a buzzing noise in both Z-axis motors. I doubt both motors have gone bad. I'm guessing my RAMPS board has failed in some way. I've ordered a new one. An earlier post said a new board didn't solve the issue. If it solves mine I'll let you know. I too could print a 20mm cube just fine. But, anything much larger or complex would not complete.
    Prusa i3/ Makerfarm (8" rod version) / Dual Hexagon Extruders with Itty Bitty Double Extruder, Simplify 3D Slicer.
    NVision4D http://nvision4d.com

  5. #15
    Technologist Stigern's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    140
    I had these issues sometimes, but I think my problem was that I detached the SD card from my computer too early. Making the gcode file corrup or not complete. Tried a different brand SD card?

    And, if my laptop which was attached to the RAMPS USB boots up it will make the printer stop.

    Not sure if this helps you, but worth the try.

  6. #16
    Super Moderator RobH2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    803
    Add RobH2 on Thingiverse
    Stigern, thanks. I mostly print using USB. I thought maybe my cable or the port was bad so I wrote the gcode to an SD card to try it. That way I'd eliminate the whole USB connection path. It failed the same way, so, I know my cable is probably OK.

    I have everything taken apart. Today I'm going to totally rewire the whole machine. I'm going to also switch the stepper driver boards around and see if I can get a failure on a different axis. That might help me diagnose what component is bad. Finally, I have a new RAMPS coming via Amazon tomorrow. If my tasks today fail, I'll have a new board. If the new board fails, then I'll have a whole RAMPS board that I can then use to build a new printer one day. I wish I knew how to test stepper motors and have also been looking for info on testing/diagnosing the Mega 2560. So far I haven't found anything useful.

    EDIT: I found a simple way to test stepper motors. Pretty handy: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=27pplRj_384
    Last edited by RobH2; 11-28-2014 at 10:53 AM. Reason: stop, halt, stepper, test, led, mega, ramps,
    Prusa i3/ Makerfarm (8" rod version) / Dual Hexagon Extruders with Itty Bitty Double Extruder, Simplify 3D Slicer.
    NVision4D http://nvision4d.com

  7. #17
    Super Moderator RobH2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    803
    Add RobH2 on Thingiverse
    Here is some insight into the problem, at least from my perspective.

    My new RAMPS won't be here till tomorrow so today I completely dismantled the machine's wiring and rewired it. I didn't find anything suspect. So, I fired it up and amazingly, it printed a good sized print for the first time in 8 starts. The motors of the x-carriage were noisier than usual and I immediately suspected that my liner bearings were going bad or something. I lubed everything nicely and tried again. Still noisy.

    Part of my rewire was to pull all the stepper motor driver boards and put them back in a different order. I went on the internet and found an article about adjusting stepper motors. It suggested turning the pots down to the very minimum, manually set a travel in gcode and start turning the pots up until the motor started to run. They also said to overdrive the motors until they shutdown due to thermal overload and mark that spot on the board. I couldn't get them to shutdown though. So, all of my motors ran fine at the lowest amp setting. The Y-carriage was a bit weak. I could stop it easily by holding the bed. So, I turned it's put up the tiniest bit. Now when I grabbed it, it couldn't stop it.

    Next I set up a print and the printer is much quieter. It was never loud, but it was sometimes noisy. Now it purrs. It appears I was overdriving all of my stepper motors even though they were set at 1/4 of the range by default. I'd say at 1/8 on them right now. However, this print failed and the printer just stopped after about 5 minutes. Drat.

    I went back to the RAMPS to adjust pots and felt it. It was pretty warm. I've never had it warm before. I think the dual head rig that I just finished this week is causing it to run hotter. I put a 60mm fan on it and started a new print. So far so good. I think my stopping issues were a combination of overdriven steppers and an overheating RAMPS.

    I'll post more as things progress.
    Prusa i3/ Makerfarm (8" rod version) / Dual Hexagon Extruders with Itty Bitty Double Extruder, Simplify 3D Slicer.
    NVision4D http://nvision4d.com

  8. #18

    write array error

    I was having the same issue with CTC printer. Soon after I noticed a little shock when i touched the USB plug and the computer. I checked my voltage off of the ground in reference to V- and sure enough I had about 7 volts AC leaking from my ground. I figure data coming from the USB was referencing ground and added to much noise to the signal. My receptacle did not have a ground. I ended up adding a ground and she was happy again. Funny thing is that it operated for months with no issue. Perhaps the power supply isn't of the best quality.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •