Close



Page 44 of 76 FirstFirst ... 34424344454654 ... LastLast
Results 431 to 440 of 757
  1. #431
    Super Moderator Roxy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Lone Star State
    Posts
    2,182
    Quote Originally Posted by syl20 View Post
    Hi Roxy,

    With my script :
    - only one script file (~80 lines) ;
    - no need to compile ;
    - no initialisation for x_min, x_max, y_min, y_max (with yours, theses variables are set to 9999.9 > if marlin is set to use micrometer ? )
    - no need to create a new gcode file ; the user file is updated in place ;
    - input and outptut are streamed ;
    I didn't know enough to get a Python script running on Slic3r, so I just made a quick and dirty C program to do it. If 9999.9 mm isn't enough, it is Open Source! The user can change it to 99999999.9 mm !

    Anybody that doesn't want to compile, can just use the executable. Compiling isn't a big deal to (or for) me. I like my C compiler!

    I could have updated in place by opening the file for read / write, but the problem is the G29 line grows in size when you add the extra parameters. So, it is more difficult than just inserting the extra information. Hence... the generation of a temporary file. Its only a few lines of code to rewrite the file once you know what you are going to do to it, so that is the path I went.

    But back to your point.... If you can get your script to work with Slic3r, it probably would be best to just have one solution that works for everything. Do you care to give it a try?

  2. #432
    Of course, it works and you can try it !
    1-just download the file from github : https://github.com/syl-20/Marlin/blo...inting_area.pl
    2-add the path to the post processing script in your slic3r config ("print settings" tab / "output options" section)
    3-add your custom start gcode ("printer settings" tab / "custom gcode" section) like this one : G29 L[G29XMIN] F[G29YMIN] R[G29XMAX] B[G29YMAX] n4

    Thats all !

    Before the script, the gcode is :
    Code:
    ...
    G1 Z5 F5000 ; lift nozzle
    G29 L[G29XMIN] F[G29YMIN] R[G29XMAX] B[G29YMAX] n4
    M109 S200 ; wait for temperature to be reached
    ...
    After the post-processing script, the gcode :
    Code:
    ...
    G1 Z5 F5000 ; lift nozzle
    G29 L73.340 F73.340 R126.660 B126.660 n4
    M109 S200 ; wait for temperature to be reached
    ...
    Last edited by syl20; 10-20-2014 at 03:08 AM.

  3. #433
    Hi Roxy,
    So I test my perl script with the fork of beckdac ; it is perfect ! The probe is restricted to the printing area, the repetability test is OK, .... Congrats !
    So I fork the fork of beckdac and integrated my script + the last commits of ErikZalm.
    Everything is here : https://github.com/syl-20/Marlin
    Thanks a lot

  4. #434
    I havn't been able to get that Perl script to work. (slic3r throws up errors about "Cant do inplace edit without backup") What version of Perl are you using?

  5. #435
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    100
    Add jtice on Thingiverse
    Having some issues here, would greatly appreciate any help.
    http://3dprintboard.com/showthread.p...ll=1#post31462

  6. #436
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    100
    Add jtice on Thingiverse
    Working through most of my issues I had in my other post, but wanting to fix this also.

    I need my Z axis to raise before it retracts the Z probe,
    I saw your post mentioning changing the code in Marlin_main.cpp
    but for the life of me, I dont see what you are seeing to change. Your examples look identical to me.

  7. #437
    Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Eastern Colorado
    Posts
    536
    If you're using the Marlin MakerFarm fork from the other topic, those changes are already in your firmware, I think.

  8. #438
    Super Moderator Roxy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Lone Star State
    Posts
    2,182
    Quote Originally Posted by sprocket1597 View Post
    I havn't been able to get that Perl script to work. (slic3r throws up errors about "Cant do inplace edit without backup") What version of Perl are you using?
    So far, I haven't been able to get it to work either. But to be fair, I've been super busy and haven't had the time to invest in this. The whole reason I did the .EXE file was because I use Slic3r and wanted it supported. So, you might want to give that a try.

    One caution.... There script version is better about parameter names because it is very clear what is being put in place. It is searching for substituting the right numbers into the [G29XMIN], [G29YMIN], [G29XMAX], [G29YMAX] items. The .EXE version just looks for a G29 and tacks on the extra information needed.

    Sly20, can you take a quick look at getting your script to work with Slic3r? That would help a lot of us out.

  9. #439
    Quote Originally Posted by Roxy View Post
    Sly20, can you take a quick look at getting your script to work with Slic3r? That would help a lot of us out.
    Hi,
    On Slic3r / Linux, the script is OK as it is. Perl is installed by default.
    On Slic3r / M$, you just have to :

    I have tested both (Debian OS and M$ XP) with success.

  10. #440

    Lightbulb

    Roxy,
    I have some questions :

    Why do I have some "+-" before some values of the topography ?
    Code:
      --0.22982 +0.00091 +-0.17644
      -0.22815 --0.00807 +-0.13478
      -0.17552 +0.19074 --0.04623
    I have "+", "-", "--", "+-" !!! I see in your code, you add some extra for the font used in pronterface. But what I understand, is that you double the sign, so why do I have many "+-" ?

    In addition, I do not understand the values of this matrix ; here are the values :
    Code:
    Bed x: 78.00 y: 71.00 z: 3.21
    Bed x: 101.00 y: 71.00 z: 3.67
    Bed x: 124.00 y: 71.00 z: 3.62
    Bed x: 78.00 y: 97.00 z: 3.44
    Bed x: 101.00 y: 97.00 z: 3.43
    Bed x: 124.00 y: 97.00 z: 3.63
    Bed x: 78.00 y: 123.00 z: 3.27
    Bed x: 101.00 y: 123.00 z: 3.31
    Bed x: 124.00 y: 123.00 z: 3.40
    Eqn coefficients: a: 0.01 b: -0.00 d: 3.24
    Mean of sampled points: 3.442588
    With Libre Office Calc, my matrix is
    -0,232588 -0,002588 -0,172588
    0,227412 -0,012588 -0,132588
    0,177412 0,187412 -0,042588

    Some values mismatch too much with the topography given by the code ... I do not know why ?

    Thanks a lot
    Last edited by syl20; 10-20-2014 at 09:26 AM.

Page 44 of 76 FirstFirst ... 34424344454654 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •