Close

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

How large of a printer should I get?

I have been toying around with the idea of purchasing a 3D printer for a while now. I recently spoke with a contractor who builds houses, and suggested that he offer a 3D model of the house made from the blueprint to show his clients so they could really visualize what their new home would look like and how the rooms would be arranged.

I've been considering the MakerBot Replicator 2 for a while now, but I'm wondering if that will be large enough to print the houses in an appropriate size. The other option I suppose would be to print out sections of the house separately and somehow attach them afterwards.

I have ZERO experience with 3D printing, but I have used Cinema 4D quite a bit so that part of it would be an easy transition. I would appreciate any feedback on this, whether it sounds like it could be a profitable service to offer, or if I'm going about this the wrong way etc.

Thanks,

Do you have any idea how large the models will be on average? That information would allow us to give you a good recommendation.

I've seen architectural models of houses printed on desk top 3D printers. They were quite presentable. At the moment, the largest common print bed is 8" x 8" (240 mm x 240 mm) and the print height is usually the same. You can figure out from those sizes what scale you could print the model at. Just for safety, limit your plan view size to 7.5" x 7.5" so you know it will fit on the printer bed. If you want to print out 52-room mansions for movie stars, you will have to print modules.

Old Man Emu

The houses wouldn't be mansions as far as I know, but they would be high end and larger than the average house. I really don't have a specific size, but larger than your usual ranch style home, with higher ceilings as well.