Close

Thread: ABS or Not?

ABS or Not?

I'm still fairly new to 3d printing but have printed several things on my FFCP (mostly successfully and primarily in ABS)
    I've just bought some yellow ABS on ebay which prints well at 230 extruder temp and 110 bed temp.
    However it does not dissolve in acetone. The colour leaches out turning the acetone yellow and leaving a gooey lump of white material behind. I guess this means that the material is not ABS?? If not what is it likely to be?

Although I've had no problems so far with nozzle blockage and the like with the material, I'm a bit concerned that they may be around the corner. Am I becoming paranoid and worrying unnecessarily?

I saw the same thing a few weeks ago, trying to dissolve the white ABS that came with my Dreamer. I rubbed what seemed like a liquid ton of acetone on it, but never really got any appreciable dissolving action.

Super Moderator
    Add jfkansas on Thingiverse
    I have some red like that. Prints fine, but disolved in a jar of acetone it turned pink. It is good enough for the slurry I needed though.

Add Geoff on Thingiverse
    Quote Originally Posted by Davequa View Post
    I'm still fairly new to 3d printing but have printed several things on my FFCP (mostly successfully and primarily in ABS)
    I've just bought some yellow ABS on ebay which prints well at 230 extruder temp and 110 bed temp.
    However it does not dissolve in acetone. The colour leaches out turning the acetone yellow and leaving a gooey lump of white material behind. I guess this means that the material is not ABS?? If not what is it likely to be?

Although I've had no problems so far with nozzle blockage and the like with the material, I'm a bit concerned that they may be around the corner. Am I becoming paranoid and worrying unnecessarily?
    There are 2 ways they colour filament that I know of (probably a hundred ways.. but that I;ve encountered... )